Eggtastic

Morning!  I woke up at 8/9 today – thanks daylight savings! :)  The only bad thing is that my parents (who still live in St. Thomas) don’t do daylight savings, so calling them gets a little trickier. 

Before I post breakfast, I want to let everyone know that husband and I decided to do Kath’s Thanksgiving Challenge.  (Click link for more info)  We’ve modified it a few ways to suit us.  1) We are only doing $100 until Thanksgiving, not including the big meal, 2) We are allowing one “free” meal out a week, 3) We are not including liquor/booze – A drinks with co-workers on Fridays and wasn’t keen on giving it up.

We are starting with a mildly stocked freezer and pantry, but I think this will be pretty hard as NYC’s food prices are getting up there.  Here are some (dark) shots of what we have on hand:

Pantry Shelves

Freezer

Fridge

Fridge Door

For my first challenge meal, Eggtastic Oats!

I microwaved 1/4C oatmeal, and a pinch of salt with 1/2C water for 2.5minutes then set it aside.  Then I microwaved 1 egg in a small bowl for 1minute.  Topped the oatmeal with the egg, then topped with some fresh thyme, a pinch of parm, and some pepper.  All mixed together,

Yum!  Small but protein packed.

I’m not sure what the schedule today will be; I’m still feeling sick and A is starting to join me. :(  We have to do laundry, I have to plan my next unit, and I have some cooking I want to do.

On the topic of schedules, it’s going to be a busy month, so it seemed like a good I idea to fill my readers in on my general plans -

  • 11/4 – Vote (for the first time!!!), school without children, and a late doctor’s appointment in the city
  • 11/6 – 1st theme night! you’ll have to wait and see what this means
  • 11/11 – Veteran’s Day, no school
  • 11/14-11/16 – head to PA for A’s sister’s birthday party
  • 11/17, 11/18 – Parent Teacher Conferences
  • 11/27 – Turkey Day; travel is expensive so our plan right now is to do our first Thanksgiving together and stay in the city
  • 12/11 – A’s 23rd birthday!
  • 12/12 – the Nutcracker Ballet
  • 12/21 – 1st night of Hanukkah
  • 12/24 – Christmas Break begins!

I’m sure our schedule will have lots of additions, but that is the basic (packed) plan!  Look at what I caught A drawing on the calendar the other day.

8 Responses to Eggtastic

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Good luck with the challenge!!

  2. Kath says:

    Thanks for joining the challenge!! I love that you’re not including alcohol :) I thought about that but decided against it. But that could be one of my “let’s see how this unfolds” pieces and I might amend my rules later in the month!

  3. Maggie says:

    Yay, we’re doing it too! Good luck!

  4. Hangry Pants says:

    Wow that is going to be hard in NY – good luck!

  5. Sharon says:

    Wow, awesome!

    And good luck with the challenge. Cute drawing by the way!

  6. Emily says:

    Thanks for all the support guys!

  7. [...] I added a splash of skim milk to help it cool down and it was actually pretty great tasting.  If I see these anywhere I would maybe buy some (although not this month!). [...]

  8. [...] I did a Thanksgiving Month $100 grocery challenge [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

