Busy Day, Boring Post

I got my three squares today but I have almost no pictures.  Breakfast and “dinner” were provided by my school and I didn’t feel comfortable with the food blog conversation quite yet so I didn’t bring a camera.  (Interesting side note: I think part of why it seemed embarrassing is because I’ve gained some weight.  If I’d lost weight I think I’d be fine with it.  Do any other bloggers feel this way?) 

I ended up eating 1/2 a bagel with cream cheese and a few bites of eggs for breakfast; a bit of chicken broccoli pizza for lunch, and 1/2 a fried wing, 1/2 a baked wing, and a mini turkey buger slider with salad for dinner.  The dinner was “bbq style” at a restraunt in Brooklyn and most of the choices seemed pretty unappealing, so I came home and had this

A non-fat blueberry Trader Joes Greek yogurt with a sliced dinosaur plum.  Sliced plum in Greek yogurt is currently one of my favorite things to eat, but these ingredients were both new to me.  I enjoyed the plum, I’m not sure it is superior to a plain black or red plum, but look at the cute label!

I liked the yogurt as well; this was my first Trader Joes experience and I am pleasantly surprised.  The yogurt wasn’t quite as sour as some greek varieties can be, but was not overly sweet.  AND the blueberry came from real pieces of blueberry.

I’m feeling a bit worried because I am so tired!  I left my house at 7:15am and got home at 7:00pm, which is a long day, but during the school year my hours are even longer.  I leave by 6:30 and often don’t get home until 7:30!  And today was just a pd (professional development) session, which is much less stressful and tiring than a full day of teaching, oh no!  I’m excited though, the pd was about The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teenages.

The school bought planners for all the students and we will be helping them to implement the strategies in the book.

I also found two more reasons to be excited when I finally made it home:

1)  I may actually have time to go for a run tonight in my new running shoes that I bought last weekend:

2) and I found this package from my mother on my doorstep:

magazines and a bracelet from St. Croix.

My parents have lived in St. Thomas for more than 20 years and this was the first time they have taken a trip to the nearby island of St. Croix.

 

***Edited to add – my grazing ways did not really fill me up, so I went back to the kitchen later (following a walk to the grocery store) and grabbed this –

7 Responses to Busy Day, Boring Post

  1. TracyJ says:

    I have the same pair of running shoes and I love them!!! This is my second pair that I bought and I don’t think I’m ever going to change brands again!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    My oh my, you’re busy!! Hope you can rest this weekend!! 🙂

  3. misswhiteskirt says:

    awesome package of magazines! i gotta tell my mom to send me stuff like that when I’m in college 😀

    hmmm.. I think I’d feel self-conscious too trying to explain to people about a food blog. no pressure to post *every* little bite!!

    http://www.misswhiteskirt.wordpress.com

  4. Awww, love the sweet package of magazines and a bracelet!

  5. run4life says:

    I know exactly how you feel with the long hours. The best thing about them, though, is that they are only for the school year! Summer is way too short, but at least we as teachers get one.

  6. Allison says:

    I never got over the “food blog” conversation, with co-workers and even relatives. Because my blog is about my active pursuit to get healthy (and subsequently lose) weight, I don’t want to share it with co-workers. So..I mostly just keep it among the blogosphere, and close friends I have in “real life.” If people that I know read my blog, then I censor myself in different ways.

  7. emily says:

    misswhiteskirt & Allison – thank you so much for the support. I think once I’ve been at it a little longer I will share with my friends, but since I plan on blogging about work as well I think I will keep this entirely out of my professional life.

    run4life – I know! I have 3 more days left and I def. plan on savoring them.

Leave a Reply

