Starry Night

What a fun evening!  We didn’t get to eat dinner until after 10, but that was because I cleaned the apartment and did some laundry first.  We made a simple dinner of eggs and veggies.

I ate some nibbles while I cooked, as well as a 100calorie piece of chocolate.

This was a 70% dark chocolate square from Trader Joes – quite good.

Dinner turned out very well.

This simple recipe is for two people (though A ate a little more and I ate a little less):

  • saute 3/4 of a yellow pepper, 1/2 C of broccoli, and 1/2 a purple onion in a little PromiseActiv
  • mix 3 eggs, 1/4 C of skim milk, and a dash each of salt, pepper, and paprikain a separate bowl
  • poor the egg mixture into the pan and cook until solid
  • top with 1.5oz low fat cheddar, wait 30seconds for meltage, then portion onto two plates

We also split a starfruit (a.k.a carambola).

 

Starfruit is my favorite fruit (or at least tied with passion fruit!).  The texture is unlike anything else I’ve ever had, crunchy in a totally unique way, I highly recommend that everyone try one.  Also, this fruit allowed me to turn my parents into small scale migrant workers as a child.  When I was a kid we had a starfruit tree in the backyard.  Unfortunately, all of the ripe fruit was always out of reach or close to spiderwebs.  So (I’m an only child) my parents would harvest and then I would haul a box into a grocery store and walk away with the $!

While we ate we watched Penelope.  I’m a huge Christina Ricci and Reese Witherspoon fan and this modern fairytale was my new favorite movie.  While we watched at had two movie snacks, a bag of mini kettlekorn,

and two fun sized candies.

Have a sweet night all!

One Response to Starry Night

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    What a lovely evening you had!!

    Starfruit is actually one of the only fruits that I’ve never tried!! Sounds delish.

Leave a Reply

