Mostly Plants

I cooked two veggie heavy recipes for dinner (btw, the minute I pitched this idea I got a “where’s the meat?” snarled at me).  For an appetizer we had some thrown together salads.  I also did some nibbling while cooking.

A lettuce blend base topped with a tbsp of shelled pumpkin seeds (the raw kind), about a 1/4C of leftover broccoli, and a smidgen of low fat poppy seed dressing.

For the main course I made Rachel Ray’s “Spring Vegetable Soup“.  We used canned instead of fresh beans, no lemon, no bread, and way less olive oil than the recipe called for.

And my mommy’s Maple Acorn Squash.

For 4 servings –

  • preheat your oven to 400*.  cut 2 acorn squash in half and scoop out their seeds and insides.
  • place squash cut side down on a (sprayed) baking sheet and cook for 35minutes
  • remove pan from the oven and flip squash onto backs
  • partially fill hollows with raisins and nuts (we used pine nuts, the recipe is usually walnuts) and drizzle at little bit of maple syrup over the top
  • return to oven for 20minutes

Altogether, plated.

This was a really good meal.  The acorn squash dish has always been one of my favorite foods, but this soup recipes is one of my new favorites!  Why do I ever eat veggie soup from a can?

Tomorrow’s another busy day so I’ve got to go shower (and bask in front of the new heater) and scurry to bed, Night!

***Updated to add, I ended my night on a classy note: three oreos scrunched in a mug, topped with 1/3C granola and skim milk.

5 Responses to Mostly Plants

  1. Sharon says:

    I have actually never tried Acron Squash, and now you have me thinking!

    I’ll fill you in, if I do try something with it, seeing that it IS fall, and squash seems to be perfect!

  2. emily says:

    *Sharon – Please do; I am always excited about a new squash application.

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    Lovin’ all the vegetables!!! 🙂

    GOod luck with your busy Tuesday!!

  4. Hangry Pants says:

    I need to get an acorn squash – looks delicious!

    Also, about combos. How sad is it that that’s the healthiest thing in there!!!!

  5. emily says:

    HangryPants – they are yummy! All of the squash I’ve tried so far this fall, including several new varieties, have been delish – it must be their year!

Leave a Reply

