What Doesn’t Go With Cheese?

I’m eating lunch at 5:00p.m.  Ellis Island took a lot longer than I had anticipated.  I went over with another teacher who is involved in the field trip and we figured out a schedule, mapped out a route, and generated questions within each subject area that related to the exhibits.  I had never been before and I really enjoyed myself; it’s an opportunity I’m glad to give my students.  Unfortunately their lack of experience is their biggest roadblock; I have students who have never been out of New York but have also never been to Central Park!  It’s really sad.

I packed some Trader Joe’s dried hibiscus for a snack on the commute.

When I did get home I spent another hour trying to get a package mailed to my parents.  The post office in Park Slope sucks!  For the most part almost everything is available back home, but occasionally things will surprise you.  I was mailing my mom gum drops (she is a lower school librarian, and she’s reading The Gumdrop Tree and wants to give them out) because she couldn’t find them.  I also sent some candy corn and jordan almonds because they’ve been unavailble as well.  It’s not that bad though, I remember the day K-Mart opened when I was a kid, it was pretty exciting stuff!

When I got home I made myself a zuccini grilled cheese sandwich.  I thinly sliced a zuccini and roasted it in the oven with a little Pam and sprinkle of salt.  And then this,

turned into this.

Yum!  I put all of the zuccini on two slices (Wonder, A’s choice) Bread with some 50% reduced sharp cheddar, spread the outsides with a little PromiseActiv and heated it in a pan.  Alongside some Mary’s Gone Crackers and turkey pepperoni.

I have schoolwork to do and we’re still not quite ready for company, so I’ve gotta run.

3 Responses to What Doesn’t Go With Cheese?

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Glad you enjoyed yourself!! That IS a shame how sheltered some of the students are 😦 They need to travel!!

    Oooh, that dried hibiscus is quite intriguing…

    Good luck with the schoolwork!!

  2. Hangry Pants says:

    I’ve had grilled cheese with tomato and with spinach, but never with eggplant! Good call. I am not sure I knew you were a teacher. I am student teaching right now!

  3. emily says:

    HangryPants – this was actually a zuccini, not an eggplant, I bet that flavor would be great though! Good luck with student teaching, fun stuff!

Leave a Reply

