Over the Moon

Today was packed!  I woke up early and headed out to the hospital for volunteering.  I didn’t want to disturb the boys, one room apartment and all, so I didn’t eat breakfast.  My shift was fun, I was busy which was good; I hate downtime at job/volunteering.  I even got to take a body down to the morgue!

When I got home we headed out to Pino’s for pizza, I had a plain slice.

We went into the city to see the construction/memorial site at the World Trade Center because A’s brother had never been.  After that we spent about 3.5hours walking around that area of the city.  Some of the interesting sites:

 

 We also got “nuts for nuts.”

I shared a mixed bag with the boys, I ate about a 1/3 of this.

After that we walked across the Brooklyn Bridge! 

Lots of walking.  Even with an aching foot long walking days are seriously my favorite thing in the world.

We took a sit down break though, and saw Quarantine.  Unimpressive.  I really don’t like scary movies, I’m not sure why I went for this.  I had Muddy Bears and a ginormous diet coke.

Seriously, why is this soda so big?  I was a bit annoyed that the guy running the stand didn’t warn me, a small would have been fine!

We walked around Borem Hill a bit more and ended up eating dinner at a Mexican place, Pacifico.

The atmosphere here was wonderful, good music and light strings everywhere!  There were way too many good looking choices on the menu but I ended up getting a vegetarian mole poblano.

(Sorry for the fuzzy picture)  It came with chipolte tortillas and a soft Mexican cheese and had yellow squash, zuccini, asparagus, portobellas, cherry tomatos, and asparagus.  Unfortunatly this wasn’t the best choice.  The sauce was overwhelming, I ended up having to stop eating before I was actually full.  I ate about half of the veggies, one tortilla, and one bit of cheese. 

A’s brother (who thinks food blogs are silly) wanted his dinner featured, so here is a shot of his steak fajitas:

Once we were back in our neighborhood we had the best experience of the day – two wonderful guys were out with telescopes.  On one side of the street we saw a close up of the Moon and on the other side Jupiter and it’s moons!  It was pretty amazing.

I’ll probably have some sort of snack before the end of tonight, but my foot is really bothering me so I won’t post until the morning.  Tomorrow’s a busy day; I hope everyone else had an equally exciting Saturday!

*****Updated to add:  I ate a C of my new Kashi which was wonderful, so glad I tried it.  But then I ate a big brownie and 8!!!! Oreos and thought I was going to die.  Eating crap makes me feel like crap, lesson learned (not like I won’t do it again, but I learned a lesson).

2 Responses to Over the Moon

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Glad your shift went well, and that the entire day was filled with activities!! 🙂

    Enjoy your busy Sunday!!

  2. Hangry Pants says:

    Oh god, I can smell those nuts right now! Glad you’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

