Today is Technically Saturday

Busy, busy, busy, busy, busy, busy!  *10points, what Christmas movie is this from?

It’s been a full day.  I woke up early this morning and headed out to Starbucks to do some grading.  I had a grande unsweetened iced coffee (with a drizzle of skim milk) but no food because everything sounded too sweet.

When I was done with grading I met the boys while they grabbed lunch and then headed home to do more schoolwork.  I have all my grading done and all my plans done!  There is still work for tomorrow but it should be a pretty relaxing day off. 

I was actually so busy that I didn’t eat any food until after 6pm!  I ended up snacking on a sliced Macoun apple and some of A’s sea salt and vinegar chips.

This was the perfect combo of salty and sweet.  And the two crunch/crisps went well together.

For dinner I made “cornish ‘shrooms” and turkey and roasted red pepper meatloaf.  Actually A made most of the meatloaf while I ran out to buy some non-moldy cheese!

The Recipe – which is actually from Martha Stewart

  • 1.5lbs lean ground turkey
  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 1/2C bread crumbs
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 T Dijon mustard
  • 1 C parsley, chopped
  • 7oz roasted red peppers, chopped
  1. Preheat oven to 400* and foil a baking pan
  2. combine all ingredients in a bowl and use hands to mix together
  3. shape into a loaf and bake for 45minutes.  let rest 15minutes before slicing

(A loaf close-up)  For the veggies I sauteed sliced white mushrooms and frozen corn in a little PromiseActiv, the ‘shrooms ended up with a Great flavor.  I had a Dogfish Head Punkin Ale with dinner.

A full-bodied brown ale brewed with real pumpkin, brown sugar, allspice, cinnamon, & nutmeg.  It was a little too full-bodied for me; I only drank half.

After dinner we took a walk around the neighborhood and went to Blockbuster to pick out a movie.  We spent 1.5hours at the movie store!  We ended up with Deception, which was actually pretty good.  I ate 10 of the boys’ tortilla chips, but couldn’t take a picture because I was still doing school work!

I’m actually pretty hungry still, but it’s almost 1:00 and I like to occasionally learn from my mistakes so I think I’ll just go to bed.  Tomorrow will probably be another singular post, I’ll see y’all then!

*****Updated to add – apparently I’m a slow learner, I had a half a cup of coke, a 200cal bag of popcorn and then way too many chips.  The chips were the deal-breaker.  And of course, I woke up this morning feeling crappy.

One Response to Today is Technically Saturday

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    WHEW!! Busy, busy, busy (etcetera, etcetera) day indeed!! Sorry, I can’t remember what film that’s from, haha 😉

    Cute ketchup heart! 😀

Leave a Reply

