Pumpkin Pie and Pomegranates

I usually just wait till a full meal post to do snacks, but this was just so “fun!”  I went to Crunch for a 45minutes Pilates class which was wonderful, I feel so much better when I’m working my muscles!  I can’t really do anything on my foot but this non-impact class can still leave you sweating.

A is sick so to cheer him up I bought some cocoa and pie.  A is a fanatic for storebought pumpkin (punkin he says) pie.  I tried a small slice to be festive with him.

Frankly though, it was storebought pumpkin pie, so I ate a bite and threw the rest away.

The other day while I was at the store my grocery had Pom brand pomegranates on sale.  When I was a kid someone shared a pomegranate with me at lunch and I liked it.  I like Pom’s tea, why not try the whole fruit?  So I bought this innocent looking guy.

I distinctly remember seeing someone on Iron Chef cut one of these in half and then whack the seeds into a bowl with the backside of a spoon.  Not so much.  25minutes later I reached this scene of carnage.

And a satisfyingly large bowl of seeds.

 For those of you who’ve never had pomegranate whole, getting the seeds out if you cut it in half is like finding your way through a maze.  And the flesh feels, and smells, exactly like Iceberg lettuce!  I actually hated the fruit, eating it made me shudder, so I threw away my spoils.  If you would like to try on your own, I recommend heading to this site first.

So, I’m hungry (and wasteful) and it’s time for me to have another go at a snack and my work.  Good luck with your snacking!

3 Responses to Pumpkin Pie and Pomegranates

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Gorgeous pomegranate!! The seeds look like little rubies.

  2. biz319 says:

    I’ve never tried pomegranate seeds before, but I know that pom juice is supposed to be good for you – wonder if you can find them already seeded?

  3. Sharon says:

    Are storebought pumpkin pies not that good?
    I tried some from my friend, and they were homemade, but i still didnt like it. LOL!

Leave a Reply

