Caffine and Junk Food

No, your timestamp is not broken, I am in fact posting at 3:30am.  It’s been a long day, and I still have to shower, but I’m trying to be consistent so I wanted to do a quick post.  I ate quite a bit of crap today, but I did a lot of walking too, so hopefully it mildly evens out.

I didn’t have time to eat before I left the house but I did manage to eat breakfast at my desk.

hpim0997

Sliced Granny Smith apple and a Kashi bar.  This was actually my only break all day.  I had a double coverage (my school doesn’t hire subs) and then I went on a part-day field trip.  We are taking the 8th graders in groups to see high schools and today we went to a tech school in the neighborhood.  I was really interesting to see some of the fun options available.  On the school bus back I ate a snack the school sent us home with – fat free chocolate milk,

hpim09984

and two oatmeal raisin (whole wheat) cookies.

hpim0999

This only had 270calories and 1.5grams of saturated fat in total, but I feel like the cafeteria system could probably do better.  The school did send our kids away with sweet goodie bags – twisty pencils, dictionaries, etc.  I thought that was a pretty great gesture.  I even got a teacher bag!

hpim10011

I stayed late after school and had time for a quick leftovers dinner before I had to scamper off to make copies for tomorrow.

hpim1002

An onion bagel with the 2nd half of my bbq tofu topped with extra sharp cheddar.  I toasted the bagel, assembled, and put it in the oven for 5minutes at 450*  It was yummy but I was still starving.  I had two random handfuls of candy before I made it out of the house.

hpim10032

hpim1004

A and I worked a few hours at Starbucks and I had a Venti iced coffee with a big splash of skim milk.

hpim1005

I was still hungry, so I got a lowfat blueberry coffee cake which I devoured in under two minutes and made myself sick.

hpim1006

On the way home, we walked to the grocery store to pick up this.

 hpim10082

And I had another cup of coffee (splash of skim) when I got home!

hpim1007

I really enjoyed this flavor.  I’ve decided “home coffee” is going to be my new thing.  Challenge update is $70 – eeek!

I’m being observed 1st period tomorrow (my all boys class, 1st period on a Friday, it’s going to be hilarious) which is why I have quite so much to do on a Thursday.  I ought to be somewhat, if not well, rested so I’ve got to get to my shower and bed.  I’m sure my readers are all sleeping as I post, so I’ll end with – Good Morning!

3 Responses to Caffine and Junk Food

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Good luck with the observation today!!!!

  2. Lara says:

    Hi Emily–Thanks for your comment on my blog! Just found yours and I think it’s great. My sister is an 8th grade teacher, too, so it makes me miss her reading about your school 😦 Happy Friday to you!

  3. Sharon says:

    Do they have internet access at Starbucks? I’ve always wondered about studying there just for the sake of it. The smell of coffee.. mmmm. lol.

    Good luck with the observation!

Leave a Reply

