Butter and Cheese*

*title is a pun – that makes my english-teacher-self glee-full!

I have a self-imposed bedtime 20minutes from now so this post will be quick – just like my breakfast.

hpim10361

I had a Kashi pumpkin spice crunchy bar on the train.  Sidenote: have any nyc readers been able to find the seasonal iced gingerbread Cliff Bars in the city?!?!  They were mentioned on EatLiveRun and now I’m obsessed with finding some!  I also snacked on this x3 throughout the morning!

hpim1037

For lunch I packed the world yummiest sandwich!

hpim1033

It doesn’t look like much but it was crazy good – a mini bun with 1.5 sliced of turkey, a slice of white cheese, spread with some hot pepper peach preserves; pepper peach pleasure!  Alongside a honey Oikos.

hpim1034

I love the texture of this yogurt, but the honey was watery which made the mixed result runny.  I would really like to try the rest of the Oikos flavors but I don’t think I can shell out the money again after this one.  Hopefully I will see them on sale.

I stayed after school for tutoring and then headed up into the city for a 7pm doctor’s appointment.  I knew I’d have to buy a beverage (I’m not together enough right now to manage carrying around my Sigg) so I bought this.

hpim10381

I have waited more than a year since I first saw these to buy one, but ultimately, meh.  I threw it out about halfway through.

When I got home A had dinner waiting for me!  Buttery Pasta!

hpim1040

No butter actually, butter beans!  A made a box of Annie white cheese shells and added in 1.5C of brocoli and cauliflower towards the end of the cooking time.  I topped my portion with half a can of butter beans.

Sorry to be gross, but I feel like I should explain why I keep going to the doctor.  While I have been sick a few times this year I’ve actually been going to a dermotologist.  I have a planters wort on my foot.  And then it was two.  And today I found out that I conquered one but have developed a new one!  I had a planters wort once before and the saga ended up with a major surgery and a summer spent on A’s couch so I try to be vigilant.  I’m going a little crazy though!  The doctor said some people have a propensity to get them and that my immune system is probably compromised due to lack of sleep and stress.

So, in the idea of reducing stress (and adding in my cheese) I wanted to let you all in on some of the things I am currently excited about:

  1. I received an e-mail this morning that I passed the education test a took a month ago.  this mean (I think) that I will offically be a certified teacher soon!
  2. by the end of our challenge our shelves will officially be bare which means I finally get to do a full-scale restock and shopping trip at the Trader Joes that opened in Brooklyn more than a month ago!
  3. I am attending a pd on Thursday (about teaching nonfiction to middle-schoolers) which means I get to skip a day of school and hang out with grown-ups!

What upcomming things are YOU excited about?

4 Responses to Butter and Cheese*

  1. Sharon says:

    I am excited about… CHRISTMAS! I miss home sweet home already!

    And congratulations on passing the education test!!! Great eats for the day too!

  2. Angela says:

    I live in NYC, but haven’t found any of the seasonal Clif bars (probably because I haven’t been looking haha), but if I do, I’ll let ya know 🙂 Congrats on passing the test!!! 😀

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    I love butter beans!!

    I’m excited about Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Year’s… haha, all the holidays!! 😀

  4. Maggie says:

    To reply to your question – I set it to $126 including Thanksgiving – and we actually already have all of our Thanksgiving food, so I think we’ll be okay. I bought a ton of stuff this week so I don’t think I’ll need much next week. It is so so hard – Bobby is going nuts because I don’t let him buy all of his drinks like vitamin water, etc… And I haven’t been able to buy all of the goodies that I normally buy like nuts and dried fruit. I’m almost out of the nuts I started off with – I’m down to about 2 cups of unsalted peanuts. And I love nuts 😦 And I have no dried fruit left. I can’t imagine doing this regularly!

Leave a Reply

