Parent Teacher Conferences

I was at school today from 7:40am – 8:00pm straight!  However, we had a half day of school, woot!  We had students for the morning and then parent teacher conferences were from 1-3:00 and 5:30-8.  I was in a rush this morning so I ate a Kashi bar on the train for breakfast.

hpim1027

I also ate an unphotographed fun sized Hersheys special dark bar!

I had my post-observation meeting with my principal today; it went well.  She really loved my lesson.  It’s always nice to get some positive feedback.  For lunch I went with trusty old museli.

hpim10241

This was 5oz of nonfat plain Chiobani, 1/4C of oats, a sliced Brauburn apple, and a dash of cinnamon.

During the break I ate a mini-dinner: a mini roll spread with natural peanut butter and some homemade strawberry jelly (A’s mom gave it to us this weekend!).

hpim1025

I had 34 parents come today!  I know that doesn’t seem like a lot (I have 85students), but last year I got less than 20.  I really enjoyed meeting all the parents; I’ve called every house at least twice this year but that’s different than in person.  There was one low point – a mother punched her son in the face in front of me.  I don’t really feel comfortable with any more details, but please tell me how would you have dealt with this?

When I finally got back to the Slope I had to stop in at Barnes and Nobel.  I needed to buy a condolences card and I set up two students with a special projects and I had to buy the books.

hpim10311

Once home I found a package from my mommy!  I am giving every student a book for Christmas this year and she sent me some freebies to get me started.

hpim10281

She also sent this awesome shower gel.

hpim10321

And this adorable mini stuffed turkey!

hpim1029

When I finally got down to dinner I had a bowl of leftover chili (a bit less than 1C) topped with dried coconut and pepitas for crunch.

hpim10352

I have an early day tomorrow so I’ve got to head off to bed.  Happy cuddling all!

6 Responses to Parent Teacher Conferences

  1. Sharon says:

    I’m really speechless about the mother and the child – it actually shocked me when I read that. Physically punch someone? o_0;

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    YIKES!!! So sorry that you had to be at the school for that long; and that’s quite scary about the mother and her child – and devastating 😦

    On a brighter note, that stuffed turkey is too cute 😀

  3. Erin says:

    Awwh mom! Care pkgs are the best. I need to remind my mom of that.
    Ugh, that’s frightening. I think I’d be so shocked I wouldn’t know how to respond.

  4. HeatherBakes says:

    83 parents??? You must be exhausted!

    Yea for care packages- especially from mom! I love the idea of giving books to your students for Christmas.

  5. Hangry Pants says:

    I’ve heard A Child Called It is an amazing book! Glad the meeting with the principal went well.

    Yay for presents from mom. 😀

  6. Emily says:

    Thanks for all of the support!

Leave a Reply

