Some Additions Are Better Than Others!

Welp, it’s been quite the day!  Sorry for the lack of a second post yesterday – we used our last challenge freebie meal for an improptu Italian dinner and I did not have my camera.  Our food was fantabulous (we had a fried polenta with balsamic fig appetizer!) but I ended up getting sick!  I don’t think there was a problem, but my pasta was in heavy cream which I always react poorly too.

Still feeling sick, I didn’t get out of bed until 1o’clock!  A and I needed to go on errands (Staples, bank, post office, etc)  and decided to make a several mile walk of it so we bundled up and set off.  I packed this to snack on on the way.

hpim1074

While heading home A used our last $3 challenge dollars to buy Five Guys fries so we had fish and chips for a late lunch!

hpim1076

The fish sticks were the all-natural ones from the other day.

hpim1078

And the little bowl is homemade tarter sauce – 1T light mayo, 1.5T pickle relish, 2 big dashes Old Bay seasoning.

hpim1079

We watched School of Life with Ryan Reynolds while we ate.  He is one of my favorite actors of all time, but I wouldn’t recommend this movie to fellow teachers, it was unrealistic and frustrating.  I also ate a big forkful of natural peanut butter.

hpim10801

We finally got down to work after the movie.  I have all of my plans and materials for the week!  I lit this candle to make things feel more relaxing.

hpim1083

For dinner I was eating chili leftovers ago so I thought I’d add this to “spice things up.”

hpim10851

This was my serving.

hpim1086

I ate one bite, gasped, added a dollop of blue cheese dressing, took another few bites, chugged some water, and threw this bowl away.

hpim10871

I ended up eating this Eddy’s Fruit Only lime popsicle for dinner!

hpim1088

I ended the evening with more success however!  Jenna and Kath received yummy sounding pumpkin bars from a fellow blogger a while back and I finally got to try the recipe.  I made some changes, mostly less sugar and chocolate, so the version I’m posting is the updated one.

  • 2C leveled all purpose flour
  • 1T pumpkin pie spice
  • 1t baking soda
  • 3/4t salt
  • 1C unsalted butter (I used 1/4C butter and 3/4C cinnamon applesauce because of challenge shortages)
  • 1C sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 2t vanilla extract
  • 1C can pumpkin puree
  • 8oz chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 350*.  Line the bottom of a 9×13 baking pan with foil and spray with cooking spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, spice, baking soda, and salt and set aside.
  3. With an electric beater, cream butter and sugar on med-high speed until smooth; beat in egg and vanilla until combined.  Beat in puree.  Reduce speed to low and mix in dry ingredients until just combined.  Fold in chocolate chips.
  4. Spread batter into prepared pan.  Bake until edges begin to pull away from sides and an inserted toothpick comes out dry, 35-40minutes.  Cool completely in the pan and store in a cool, dry place.

I subbed applesauce because I was out of butter but these were so good I think I will follow the same exact recipe next time!  I couldn’t resist one straight from the pan.

hpim1091

I drank a cup of tea alongside.

hpim1090

I bought this tea in the summer and waited until it was thematically appropriate.  With a splash of skim milk, YUM!

hpim1084

I have a teensy bit of grading to do when I wake up and some work to do once I reach school so it should be an early morning (I always say that, but I’m really going to try to wake up).  It’s a short week, 3 days!, so I’m pretty excited.  Hope everyone’s weekend ends well, xoxoxox!

5 Responses to Some Additions Are Better Than Others!

  1. Sharon says:

    I definitely need to pick up some holiday candles tomorrow! Great eats.
    And awh that is so cute those fish sticks are fish shaped!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Fun food!!

    LOVE THAT CANDLE!!!!

    Happy Monday, Emily!!

  3. Hi! Thanks for your comment on my blog! Those pumpkin bars look scrumptious and now have me totally craving chocolate. I’m off to find a fix!

  4. landoffruitsandnuts says:

    Thanks for your sweet comment- I am happy to have found your blog!

  5. carolinebee says:

    I hate when delicious foods disagree with me! Oh well, its usually, always, worth it. I’m gonna try that tea!

Leave a Reply

