Errands, Ups and Downs

It’s been an interesting day, but in spite of the illness I’ve gotten in some exercise with all the walking and carrying.  We decided to go ahead and walk the 1.5miles to our first stop, Target.  We did lots of X-mas figuring though, and were ready for the subway on the trip home.  I bought this peanutbutter pretzel Mojo Cliff Bar to eat on the train.

hpim1131

Yum; this is my favorite type of bar ever!  2nd only to KIND bars, which are difficult to find.  We went to a X-mas gift place, and Barnes and Nobel on the way home.  I bought this apple juice to take a painkiller with, but more about that later.

hpim1132

We finally got to go to Trader Joes!  I have been excited about this for months, but by the time we got there I was so sick I could barely stand up.  I didn’t even know what we had bought until after I got home and looked!  Probably had something to do with the fact that I stopped andthrew up on a car on the way home!!!  Yep, I’m that classy.  It did make me feel better though 🙂  As did the package I found from my parents when I got home.  I got magazines and these.

hpim1133

These are homemade peppermint candies my parents bought me at the Agricultural Fair back home last week; they are one of my fondest childhood memories.

After a short rest (and some teeth-brushing!) we headed back out.  We had to go back to the gift place to pick something up, down to Staples to buy packing materials, and to our neighborhood grocery store to actually finish stocking up.  We have a small freshdirect order coming tomorrow morning, and then we will be fully restocked!  All total it cost less than $200 so I’m feeling good about our challenge savings.

When I got home I snacked on five Mission Figlets,

hpim1134

and licked the spoon after I stirred my new natural peanut butter.  I mapped it, and found out that we walked (just to and from, not including in stores) a minimum of five miles today!  As a New Yorker and a walk lover this isn’t much, but for how I’m feeling I’m pretty impressed.

hpim1136

 For dinner, we did Thanksgiving a day late!

We made purple mashed potatoes and mushroom gravy, and had a little help with the stuffing and turkey.  For the potatoes I boiled a little less than 2lbs of a mixed bag (purple, yellow, red) in water for 15minutes.  Next I drained the potatoes and mashed with a 1/2C of skim milk and 2T Smart Balance.  Delish and healthy, we always leave our skins on, why go to extra trouble to make something less healthy?  The gravy was a recipe from Women’s Health.  I made a half batch, but here is the original recipe:

  1. Finely chop 6oz of baby portabello mushrooms (1 1/4C) and one small onion.
  2. Pour 1T oil in a saucepan that’s on medium-high heat.  Allow the oil to heat through and add the onion, stirring for 3minutes.
  3. Add in the mushrooms and cook covered for 4minutes or until the liquid is sweated out, stirring occasionally.
  4. Stir in 6T of all purpose flour, mixing completely.
  5. Slowly add in 4C chicken broth, stirring until mixed, and then simmer on low for 5minutes.

Here’s my plate – white meat without skin, potatoes, and stuffing, topped with bella gravy.

hpim1140

Fantastic!  We have leftovers for tomorrow that A and I are both looking forward to.  I will certainly be making the gravy again!  The biggest surprise, however, was the boxed stuffing – why would anyone ever bother to make this from scratch?  I thought I didn’t like stuffing but this stuff was great.  As much as I enjoyed dinner, I realized halfway through that I had bought popcorn at the grocery store.  I slowed down, and this was my plate when I pushed it to A.

hpim11412

So glad I stopped, I was able to enjoy my popcorn without feeling stuffed. 

hpim1142

I did eat a small pack of My Little Ponies fruit gummies later on, while we watched Now and Then on DVD.  Does anyone else remember this movie?  A little girlier than I had thought, but good.

hpim1143

I’m sipping a cup of eggnog’n tea with a splash of skim milk while I type, and life seems good!

hpim1144

I’m feeling a lot better now, and keeping my fingers crossed that this is how I feel tomorrow morning!

3 Responses to Errands, Ups and Downs

  1. Maggie says:

    Everything looks delicious. Feel better! Thanks for the comment about the challenge – I’m glad you felt that way too!!

  2. Sharon says:

    Oh my goodness, throwing up ON a car? Is that a typo? o_0;
    I’m glad you are feeling better, but oh my, that would have been an intense day! Glad you enjoyed your shopping trip. One day, I have to go to the states just to go to TJ and Whole Foods! =)

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    FIIIIIGS!!!

    Love the photo gallery.

    Oh no!! PLEASE get 100% well soon, Emily!!

Leave a Reply

