Feeling Scabbulous

It’s been a relaxed (but over-caffeinated day).  I managed to do not a single piece of school work which means tomorrow will be pretty busy!

A and I woke up and made breakfast together.  We sauteed leftover mushrooms and onion in a little bit of evoo and then beat 2 eggs and 1/4C of skim milk in a separate bowl and cooked them all together.  We had some TJ’s sourdough toast with Smart Balance on the side.  His and hers.

hpim1145

I topped my eggs with a bit of bella gravy.  The coffee has 1/2C of eggnog in it which made me happy.

hpim1147

Then we spent the next hour or so packing up Christmas gifts.  We used green (the color and the earth-concerned) packing peanuts and red stuffing to make them more festive.

hpim11481

The post office in our neighborhood is astonishingly slow so that ate up a good portion of the day. 😦

When we finally did head home we stopped and got pizza on the way home.  I had an eggplant slice with a diet coke.

hpim1149

Look at that yummy eggplant.

hpim1150

I did my pizza crusts in soda, it’s my favorite thing about pizza.  Does anyone else do this?  I also really like pretzels dipped in diet cherry coke.

I ate some TJ’s mangosteen for dessert.

hpim11541

 hpim1153

I also tried to eat some of this dried pomelo but one bitter bite left me with an awful taste in my mouth for the next hour, boo.

hpim1151

I spent a delightful day relaxing with A and for dinner we ate some “day after Turkey Day” leftovers.  I let A eat the rest of the stuffing, but I supplemented my plate with some sauteed kale.  We cooked it with a little evoo and I topped mine with a sprinkle of maple syrup and red pepper flakes.

hpim1155

My eyes were bigger than my stomach again, and I left about a 1/4 of this on the plate.  The mug is eggnog’n tea with a little splash of real eggnog stirred in.

Moving on to my next warm, caffeinated beverage – we cracked open this coffee from Fresh Market.

hpim1156

I didn’t love the flavor of this, I think our Folgers is better than this, it was a little bitter.  I had a cup while A and I played Scrabble!

hpim1157

I also had a bowl of Smart Balance popcorn during another game.  And I took an unphotographed Huge bite of sunflower butter while I helped A make his game snack.

hpim1158

I was an English major, I have a bigger vocabulary than A, and A is a terrible speller, but he always kicks my ass at this game!  I don’t think I’ve ever beaten him.  We had a lot of fun though, we love board games.  Some of our most fun nights in college (and we did got to Sunshine U so there were a lot of fun nights!) were spent playing board games with our roomates.  What dorky trend are you rocking?

6 Responses to Feeling Scabbulous

  1. Maggie says:

    Your festive packing is so cute 🙂

    I like to eat the crusts with Hershey’s kisses. That’s probably weirder than soda. I’ve never heard of the soda thing before though.

  2. Sharon says:

    Can’t say I’ve tried eggplant on pizza – sounds tasty.

  3. carolinebee says:

    Right now I’m rocking a long, fleece purple bathrobe that my grandma gave me…I honestly could be mistaken for an 80 year old woman haha love IT it is so comfortable! Good luck with work tomorow! Random question: but i just visited two of my friends who are doing Teach for America in NY- it is SO hard and they pretty much hate it, j/w if you knew about that or are doing it??

  4. Hangry Pants says:

    I didn’t do any school work either. 😦

    I love your pizza without the cheese!

  5. emily says:

    Maggie – ooh, that combo sounds interesting too! When I was a kid we would always dip Wendy’s fries in chocolate frostys!

    carolinebee – if I had the closet space I’d probably rock a gma robe as well! Who are you friends if you don’t mind me asking? My husband does TFA here and is pretty miserable and the three tfa’ers at my school are basically in shock! I, granted, am at one of the worst schools in the city, but it seems like almost everyone I’ve met is having a rough time. It’s so frustrating that it’s like this here – tell your friends good luck for me!

    Hangry Pants – one of the most fun lessons of first year teaching is that when you have a long weekend you will not use a single minute of it up until the last hour to do any work!

  6. Erin says:

    I like the eggplant pizza! AND I DRINK POP THROUGH A STRAW TOO!

Leave a Reply

