Fresh to Refresh

Sorry for my most recent absence – school has continued to be crazy and I’ve had a ton of work to do at home.  I am not even going to recap the last three days, I’ll just move on.

I was really frustrated with a student today when reality hit me like a ton of bricks.  K never does any work, refuses to sit in his assigned seat every day, and refuses to take of his jacket every day (keep in mind, I teach 8th grade, not 1st).  K was at the classroom computer in the middle of my lesson and I made a comment about behavior like that being why we can’t go to the computer lab, and another student yelled at him (and since I’m at my school, accompanied it with a smack to the back of the head).  K almost started to cry and I felt like someone punched me in the stomach.  A child is being picked on and I’m yelling at them?  I literally stopped cold and sat down to have a kind conversation with him about what was going on.  A child is showing multiple signs of depression and my response is anger?  That is not why I became a teacher.  As terrible as my classroom management  is, I do have great relationships with most of my students (to the point where many of them come to me to help sort out issues with other teachers).  While I already make a point to ask about sick family members, colds, moves, etc. my new plan is to stop myself at least once a period and think about the way I am speaking to my students.

On the work, paperwork, side I have to stop letting molehills become mountains.  When I feel overwhelmed sometimes I just shut down but that doesn’t do anything to chip away at the problem.  The nightly House episodes aren’t helping either, so I might have to start pretending my TV is still broken!  In spite of an effort to stay on top of my work, I’ve also decided I need to balance my multiple sources of stress.  With the way the English dept. at my school is run I will always be behind, I might as well be a bit more behind and go to the gym.

I ran some errands after school, and by the time I finally got home I’d had time to think.  I decided I needed to get a fresh start to hit the refresh button.  I took the world’s longest shower, complete with two types of shampoos and soaps, followed by a face mask and a pedicure.  I’m ready to tackle my to-dos.

I’ll be back tomorrow morning with an actual food post, I greatly appreciate you bearing with me while I get myself in order.  Muchas Gracias!

5 Responses to Fresh to Refresh

  1. Sharon says:

    Glad that you ended up talking to him. I think you dealt with it in the end, very well.
    I don’t find myself watching television too often, I don’t know why. After a while, when you stop watching it, you kind of get used to it. And I even have the television in my room too.

  2. Maggie says:

    House is bad for me too =/ Hang in there. You’ll figure it out 🙂

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    Please stay strong, Emily.

  4. Erin says:

    You’re totally human – I’m glad you caught yourself in the moment and changed your behavior. You’re an awesome teacher! 8th grade would be a challenge!

  5. ech818 says:

    I also teach in NYC public schools (9th grade) and I have absolutely experienced many of the frustrations you have! Hold onto the fact that you have such a good relationship with your students – that is so important to them! Keep your head up and remember that Christmas break is really soon!

Leave a Reply

