Not an Old Maid

July to December I’m an older woman to A but now he’s finally caught up to me at 23, happy birthday honey!  It wasn’t much of a festive day, it’s been pouring rain, but he’s a good sport.  Husband’s dessert request was a smores pie, both of our favorite, but we won’t have to for baking until the weekend.

I had to hurry to school this morning to do some grading (the school mandated these test prep workbooks that I can’t carry home) so I snacked on a Yogurt Honey Peanut Balance Bar on the train.

hpim1224

Yum!  I usually don’t like “protein bars” but this was delish.  Flavor and texture were spot on; I will definitely try some of the other Balance varieties if I see them.  While I ate/rode I also finished my book, and I have to give a shout out, it was fabulous.  The Unthinkable Thoughts of Jacob Greene, by Joshua Braff – read it!  Brother to Zach Braff (my favorite actor/director), Joshua’s writing skills are on par with his brother’s acting talent; this is one hellva liberal arts family!  It was funny, funny, funny, but still touching and I highly recommend it.

For lunch I packed a lemon Columbo yogurt with two small clementines,

hpim1218

and a Kashi Pumpkin Spice Bar with some TJ’s dried mangosteen.

hpim1219

I’m so glad clementines are back in season – I had them for the first time last winter and I fell in love!

I also stuck one of these acai Emergen-C packs in a bottle of water during class.  I’ve decided to take a total offensive towards winter colds, I bought a box of these and plan on having two a day.

hpim1223

It was a better day at school; the kids are still going crazy, but I’m making a point of focusing on the many sweet moments I get to have amongst the bitter ones.  I had a ton of work to do when I got home though.  I am buying all of my students a book for Christmas (probably New Years because I don’t think they’ll get here) so I spent forever on the Scholastic web site.  Between books my mommy mailed me and using points, I only spent $157 – not bad at all!  I also have a bookmark to stick in each book.

I was ravneous during my biblio-spree so I ate a spoonful of natural peanut butter.

hpim1225

A choose Miracle Grill, his favorite restaurant in our neighborhood, for dinner.  I’ll apologize in advance for the blurry pics, it was looow-lighting.  I ordered from the Pre-Fixe menu so I had three courses.  Some raw veggie spring rolls for an appetizer.

hpim12302

These were yummy.  They are raw raw, so they are the yummy spring roll ingredients without the typical fry-age.  Plus they sprinkle them with cayenne so they have a Kick!

And the smokey chicken chili for dinner.

hpim1231

This was delish but ginormous!  I literally barely made a dent in it, I have 3/4 leftover to eat for lunch this weekend.  I did not eat the chips on the side, they seemed a little odd to me; if I wanted nachos I would have ordered them.

For dessert I got the toasted coconut flan.

hpim1232

A wasn’t a huge fan, but I was, so I ate most of this myself.  I love flan.  When we go to Miami over break we are going to visit a Cuban restaurant from college that has the best flan I’ve ever had!

Speaking of exciting things – we are going to see The Nutcracker Ballet tomorrow evening!  For my birthday my aunt gave me $ to see a show and I’m finally getting to go.  I danced as a kid, and always wished I could have kept going (not a lot of ballet in the islands) so I really enjoy any sort of dance presentation.  I’m so excited!!!

4 Responses to Not an Old Maid

  1. carolinebee says:

    ballet!? SO fun, that will be great…I love those balance bars they taste like candy! AND omg aren’t u so stoked Scrubs is coming back!?? Not that u have time to watch, but anyway, i’ll have to pick up that book.

  2. Sharon says:

    Wow, have a great time tomorrow at the Nutcracker Ballet. I love watching Ballet!

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    Aww, happy birthday to your husband!! 🙂

    I LOVE THE NUTCRACKER!!! Have a wonderful time!!

  4. Thanks for your post. Next time you’re in the neighborhood, please visit us again. And to make the meal even tastier, check out our coupons. Just go to our website, miraclegrillbrooklyn.com, and follow the link at the top for our web-only coupons.

    Thanks again!
    Miracle Grill

Leave a Reply

