Too Many Visions of Sugar Plums

The Nutcracker was wonderful!  It was a great date night, A and I really enjoyed getting to talk about the show.  The first half was more like a silent play, because there wasn’t a lot of dancing in the party scene.  But the second half, in the forest, was gorgeous.  I read in the playbill that they used 50lbs of paper confetti for the snow – from an environmental standpoint I was a little annoyed but it was beautiful! The snow did really add to my enjoyment.

I ate a bag of Crispy Apples on our walk,

hpim1240

and on our way to the theatre A and I shared some snacks.  A bottle of h2o and some Werthers on the train,

hpim12413

I only ate two, but it was nice to share.  And a nonfat peppermint white chocolate mocha as we waited in line.  Some people were so dressed up, it was almost like being at a fashion show!  A and I had a great time looking at people’s outfits.  A lot of people were also in jeans so I think my outfit struck the right balance,

hpim1239

I layered three shirts so I looked a little lumpy, but I wasn’t over or under-dressed and I was warm.

We bought this little cup of gummi bears during intermission and snacked on them during the second half of the ballet.

hpim1243

All total it was a wonderful date – thank you Aunt Beth!  When we got home from the store we actually stopped in at Key Foods and did our grocery shopping for the week.  We didn’t get home until after 12, which maybe explains why I didn’t wake up today until 3:30!!!  My throat hurts, and I didn’t go to bed until 2ish on Thursday, but still, jeez!  A was at grad school all day but I did get up when he finally got home.

We are heading up into the city to buy A a suit (he has a school interview this week! and he ruined his suit pants a few months ago) and I knew I needed powerfood so I made……..oatmeal!

hpim12451

This was 1/3C oats cooked with a largish banana, with raisins stirred in, topped with peppitas and skim milk, and a spoonful (teaspoonish) of sunflower seed butter.  Yum.

I’ll be back later with lunch/dinner whatever you would call the meal after a 4pm “brekfast.”  I loved hearing about people’s favorite shows last night, has anyone seen “Wicked?”  It is my favorite book so I’d really like to see the show.

4 Responses to Too Many Visions of Sugar Plums

  1. Sharon says:

    Glad you had a great time! You look awesome!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Aww yay!! I’m so glad that you enjoyed my FAVORITE theater production 🙂

    I SAW WICKED ON BROADWAY, 2 YEARS AGO!!!!!! GO SEE THAT ONE TOO!!!!!!!!

  3. Erin says:

    Your outfit is really cute! I love that! Classic!

  4. Jeena says:

    I love werthers original and crispy apples. 🙂

Leave a Reply

