Fresh

So last night was a success – A now has a snazzy looking suit for his interview this week, hopefully it will bring him luck.  I’ve spent most of my life being ulta-organized and always planning ahead, but the last few years have definitely cured me of that.  I literally have no idea what part of the country I’ll be living in, or even what my job will be next year.  We are letting the admissions process decide for us!  It’s a little nerve-wracking, but almost nice because I really don’t know whether or not I want to keep teacher and it’s making that decision less pressured.

After we went shopping we walked around Bryant Park and Times Square – I love New York City in the winter!  We ended up going to see “Nothing Like the Holidays.”  It was ok, parts of it were a little stilted, but Jay Hernandez is such a hottie!  A likes chick flicks more than I do so he liked it more than I.

We had a quick dinner at Chevy’s Fresh Mex before the movie.  Everything looked yummy, and it was very fresh, but most of the menu was 1200calories+.  Of course they had chips on the table,

hpim1246

I snacked on five and then concentrated on my diet pepsi.

For dinner I ordered the only under 1000calorie item (390), chicken tortilla soup.

hpim1247

It was yummy, but our meal took so long we were going to be late to our movie so I didn’t get to eat all of it.  The restrunt was so nice about it; we were getting worried, but hadn’t said anything to the waiter, when he apologized for the wait and had the manager comp. 50% of our bill!  A loved his food, and I’d go back and order soup again because the service was so nice.

During the movie A felt bad that I was hungry and surpised me with popcorn and gummybears.  It was sweet, but kind of defeated the purpose of ordering a healthy dinner!

This morning we got up and got started on our to-dos.  I have a ton of school work to do and some cooking, but first and foremost was laundry!  We got a tall nonfat eggnog latte from Starbucks while we waited.  I also hiked over to Barnes and Nobels and picked up some great looking books.  We will be doing a lot of traveling over Christmas so I wanted to be prepared.

When I got home I knew I had to break into the fresh berries I found on sale at the grocery store the other day.  I used one of our “Christmas bowls” my mommy gave us.

hpim1237

hpim1248

This bowl is 1/2C nonfat cottage cheese topped with 1.5teaspoon ground flax, 1t homemade strawberry jam, and raspberries and blackberries.  Yummy yummy yummy.  Blackberries are my favorite berry.

I’ve got to get back to the grindstone, but I’ll be back with a lunch/dinner update later.  What is your favorite berry?

3 Responses to Fresh

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Hooray for a successful evening!!

    Love the bowl – too cute!!

    **Favorite berry = blueberries.

  2. Sharon says:

    Wow, the soup looks great!
    And good luck to A with the new suit!

    Enjoy your weekend. And as for my favorite berry: I love raspberries!

  3. HangryPants says:

    How cute that he got you a snacky!

    I don’t love berries, but I think I pick strawberry.

Leave a Reply

