A Person’s a Person, No Matter How Small

I had that “Horton Hears a Who Line” (it was a bonus on the “Grinch” dvd) running through my head all day!  I’m applying the theory to accomplishments – an accomplishment is an accomplishment no matter how small!  I didn’t get up as early as I wanted to, but I managed to accomplish every last todo in my day!

My alarm, once again went off at the wrong time, I’ve been using my cell alarm and ever since I got a new phone it’s been a hassle; I am so glad we are heading to Target tomorrow so I can get a real alarm clock.  My grab and go breakfast was a Nut Kind Bar on the train.

hpim12851

This was still good, but not as fantabulous as some of the other KIND flavors.

I had a really frustrating time with my all-boys class today, I had a prep after they left and I sat with my head on my desk for most of the period.  I spent my lunch hour talking with the English coach who sympathized (she came in today and saw the carnage that is their class) and we brainstormed some ideas.  Between that and meeting with the social worker (I have a student who badly needs to be tested for Tourettes,sp?) I didn’t get to eat lunch!  I stayed after school grading workbooks – I’m all done, yays! – so I didn’t eat “lunch” until 6pm when I got on the train!

My train eats were another salad.  The base was more “European” lettuce with pepittas and about 1oz extra-sharp cheddar,

hpim1275

and I topped it with the other half of the roasted zucchini (and a side of fat free balsamic).

hpim12821

I also ate two clementines alongside my salad.

hpim1283

I’m used to eating breakfast on the train, but never dinner, I always read my book.  This was actually pretty zen.

New York got some pretty serious inches today so my walk home was a snowy trudge.  I had to stop into a specialty store for something special (Sunday), and by the time I got home I tested just how not-waterproof my Uggs really are!

In spite of my train meal I was still pretty hungry, so I ate some leftover spaghetti topped with a wedge of Laughing Cow Lite French Onion cheese.

hpim1287

And two peppermint taffies for dessert.

hpim1290

Then I put on my big purple rainboots and set out for………the gym!  Finally!  I am officially the most out of shape I’ve ever been in my life – great motivation for some New Years resolutions.  The bunion/bone spur/whatever the f the painful bump on my foot is has been acting up, so I knew better than to run today.  I did 20minutes on the arc trainer, followed by 10minutes of mat abs work and stretching.

We stopped at the grocery store on the way home, but we are only here until we head to PA on Weds. so it was a quick trip.  I dug into the last piece of Smores Pie, straight from the pan! when I got home.

hpim1291

A’s in the shower, but as soon as I’m sparkly clean as well we are going to watch “Frosty the Snowman.”  So excited!  I will definitely be having a bag of Smart Balance popcorn (240calories) during showtime.  Hope everyone is enjoying the frosty weather, have a great night!

2 Responses to A Person’s a Person, No Matter How Small

  1. Hangry Pants says:

    Sorry to hear about your problems in the classroom. I bet you can’t wait for the break!

    The pie looks great. Is there a recipe?

  2. Tracy says:

    I just found your blog and love it! I am a teacher too! I teach Kindergarten and I do not think I will ever teach an older grade, especially junior high or high school!! I also have always wanted to teach in NYC ( I live in AZ) but it doesn’t sound so fun! Just keep focusing on the positives, and being the kind of teacher your students can come to for help. Try not to focus on all of the other responsibilities of the job, and make time for yourself!! I try to leave school at a decent time 4 out of 5 days, and stay late only 1. Then I have time to go to the gym and do my own errands, which helps my stress level. Good luck!!! Aren’t you on break now?? Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

