Fa la la la la la la la la

It’s Christmas Eve!  It’s been a less than festive day, but we are finally here!  I overslept a bit this morning (shocking right?) so I didn’t have time to eat before we left the house this morning – good thing I packed last night!

We brought the last of the clementines so I ate one on the train.

hpim1331

We took a bus from NY to PA.  As terrible as travel by bus sounds it’s actually not bad, about 3hours.  I went to Au Bon Pain in the bus terminal and bought one of their “200calories or less” meals.

hpim1334

Apples and celery with blue cheese.  It was a great mix of savory and sweet.

hpim1336

I had big plans to read on the bus, but I ended up taking a loooong nap, zzzzzzzz.  (Btw – I just finished The Zookeeper’s Wife and I highly recommend it).  We got a late start because the bus company had a breakdown so we didn’t get to PA until after 4.

There were some technical issues with dinner so A and I ended up running out with his sister to buy food.  I also stopped in at Dicks and bought some snow pants for $19.99 – score!  I ended up getting take out from Wendys for dinner, a #9 with diet coke.

hpim13371

I’m not a fan of fast food at all, but Wendys and Taco Bell I do really enjoy.

And after dinner I hardcore broke into dessert!  I made a plate with a peanut blossom and a piece of cherry cheese Danish from Panera Bread.

hpim1338

I only ate about 3/4 of each because then I ate a milk/white chocoalte Lindt truffle.

hpim1339

I ate so many of these truffles at a party one year my mother-in-law actually told me to stop!  Followed by a peanut butter tree.

hpim1341

I think I’ve fulfilled my sugar shock for the day!  I think I’ll drink an Emergen-C packet with some water but other than that I’m done consuming for a while.

My brother-in-law has work tomorrow so we did presents tonight!  Here are some fun snapshots,

A hot air balloon ornament from when the in-laws went to New Mexico:

hpim1343

Some new X-mas PJ pants:

hpim1344

A Christmas baking set, with a homesewn apron from my m-i-l.

hpim1346

A “Hot Hug” monkey; it has a removable aromatherapy pouch you can heat up.

hpim1345

A oven, to table, to freezer holiday baking pan.

hpim1349

A holiday cutting board.

hpim1353

We got a mountain of Christmas goodies!  I greatly appreciate how sweet my in-laws are to me, A and I both got lucky with our “new” families.

Tomorrow should be a nice and easy day; we actually aren’t even eating meals just snacks spread throughout the day.  It will be a time for movies and pjs!

This is actually the first Chrismas I’ve ever spent away from my parents.  We throw a Chrismas Eve party every year (which I actually really funny considering that my dad is Jewish and it’s my parents main entertaining event!) so usually this day would have been spent setting up.  What holiday traditions does your family have?

3 Responses to Fa la la la la la la la la

  1. Sharon says:

    Wow, love everything!!!!!! Merry Christmas!!!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Christmas Eve = my family (all 16 of us!) get together at my house for our annual Christmas Eve early dinner; and then Christmas morning we open presents!! 🙂

    MERRY CHRISTMAS, EMILY!!

  3. carolinebee says:

    Those reese’s Christmas trees = PURE joy!! Have a great Christmas and break! My traditional gathering is usually Christmas eve, then the day is spent chillin’ and playing with new toys :D!

Leave a Reply

