Boarding was a “Fun-Don’t”

Unfortunately the weather was not with us today for a snowboarding trip.  Several of us were feeling under the weather so it was just as well.  The parents left this morning so it was just the “kids.”  We had another fun day lazing around the house.  While couch-time was probably just what the doctor ordered, my back hurts, I am looking forward to visiting with my parents soon where the fun is a bit more active.

I ate a piece of candy (and three more unphotographed too-large handfuls of nuts – gotta stop!) but was too glued to the couch to make any real food.

hpim1374

For dinner we used our saved ski-pass money on a trip to The Melting Pot.  None of us had ever been but we’d all heard good things and were excited.  The Melting Pot is a fondue restaurant where you basically cook your own food, it’s a fun time.  Each table can only do one pot at a time, which I knew in advance, so I had to make peace with sharing dipping space with meat-eaters.  I am fish/fowl only and I usually will not eat things that touch but A’s part of a big meat family and I didn’t want to be obnoxious.  We ended up with a four-course deal, Big Night Out.

We started with the Boston Larger Cheddar Cheese Fondue.  It came with cauliflower, bread slices, and green apple – yums!

hpim1378

I ordered Cesar for my side salad.

hpim1380

A and I split the Fondue Feast.  You skewer pieces of raw meat and cook them in the center pot.  We did our cooking Court Bullion style: in vegetable broth rather than oil.  Here is our uncooked stuff, everything comes in bite-sized pieces.

hpim1381

Plate 1 – salmon with apple butter, lobster tail, chicken with plum sauce, mushroom cap with Gorgonzola.

hpim1384

Plate 2 – 2 shrimp with cocktail sauce, mushroom cap with curry.

hpim1385

Plate 3 – salmon with apple butter, chicken with curry.

hpim1386

Plate 4 – 2 spinach ravioli, 2 broccoli with curry.

hpim1387

I didn’t actually eat a ton of food, but the first two courses were pretty rich.

For dessert with did the Turtle Fondue, milk chocolate with caramel and pecans.

hpim1389

These were the dessert dippers.

hpim1388

I ate about 1/2 of this plate.  I ate more than I needed to, but didn’t stuff myself.  It was a really great time.

On the way home we stopped at Walmart so I could pick up a few staples on non-NY prices.  Then it was time for Cranium!  A and his brother-in-law actually headed out on the town so my sister-in-law and I are having some quality time at home, so I need to go be quality!  What’s your relationship like with your in-laws?

4 Responses to Boarding was a “Fun-Don’t”

  1. Sharon says:

    Wow, dessert dippers look amazing. Glad you had such a wonderful time!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Ahh so sorry about the boarding trip not taking place 😦 But hooray for still having fun!!

  3. Hangry Pants says:

    No in laws for me, but I think mark’s mom and dad like me ok!

    I’ve heard of the Melting Pot, but never been. It actually looks pretty good. I always assumed it would just be all this unhealthy food, but it looks delicious!

    Have a wonderful New Year!

  4. Jess says:

    Oh. My. Heavens that looks unreal! I hate living so far away from any good restaurants!!! Happy New Year!!!

    http://www.modbehav.com

Leave a Reply

