New Year, New Bowl, New Goals, New Features

New Year

It’s been a while since my last post and I’ve got lots to talk about!  Since I last left you I celebrated my one year wedding anniversary, went to Miami on a visit with my parents, celebrated the new year, came back to New York, and missed my first day back to school!  Let’s backtrack – Miami was wonderful, but I caught the flu midtrip.  In spite of it we managed to do lots of wonderful things, but it did end with me throwing up in the middle of the MIA airport (a fun experience for everyone!).  I’ve had the flu since I got back, which is why I missed my first day back at school yesterday.  The one thing I did accomplish though, was finally going to a podiatrist.  The foot doctor informed me that I have a bunion on my right foot and it (actually I have four, but only one) is super inflamed.  For now my doctor gave me a steroid shot in my joint (another new experience!) and I’m supposed to take Motrin until my next appointment in two weeks.  The next step will probably be orthopedic inserts, and I’ll keep you updated, but for now it means I will not be getting back into running as soon as I had hoped.

New Bowl

This morning I am enjoying a healthy back to school breakfast in my new bowl I bought at Anthropologie in Miami!  Isn’t it cute!

hpim14701

I’m having 1C of Kashi Go Lean topped with a medium banana and some skim milk.

hpim1474

Alongside some (not very good) caramel macciato coffee with skim milk that I ended up giving to A.

New Goals

Even though I am not going to be recapping the last week or so, I will let you in on my New Years Resolutions.  Please post and let me know what some of yours were.

Short Term:

  1. Wear sunscreen every single day.
  2. Go to the gym 3x a week.
  3. Say something positive everytime I think something negative.

Long Term:

  1. Run a 5k.
  2. Figure out what career I want to pursue before 2010.
  3. Find a healthy way to manage stress that works for me (I’m thinking yoga!).
  4. Lose 10-15lbs.

My new goals are small enough to be manageable, but big enough to make an impact.  I’m really excited to start working towards them.  I didn’t realize my foot would be such an issue, but for now my workout goals will focus on flexability and strength training. 

I’m heading off to school, the first day back is always interesting so I want to get an early start!  Hope everyone has a great day at work!

6 Responses to New Year, New Bowl, New Goals, New Features

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Happy belated anniversary!!

    Good luck with your goals and with work!! 🙂

  2. Lara says:

    First of all, Happy Anniversary! They say the first year is the hardest but, being a newlywed myself, I have no way of knowing if that is true!
    Some of our goals are really similar! I really like your positive/negative resolution. I might steal that one. I also need to figure out my career, hopefully that will come together this year. My big shorter-term goal is to cut out diet soda!

    • Emily says:

      Lara – I almost decided to do the diet soda one but then I realized that I have an unhealthy love of diet soda and, for now at least, my life could not be as happy without it!

  3. carolinebee says:

    Great goals! I really like the sunscreen one- I always forget about it during winter.

  4. Sharon says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! Well, belated, but still! LOL!
    And great goals, I think it is so awesome to say something positive to yourself everyday! That’s great! And I think I should get into that habit of doing that too!

    Great bowl, I’m a sucker for eating utensils and eating ware.

  5. HangryPants says:

    Great goals! looking forward to the new feature. Oh and I love the bowl!!!

Leave a Reply

