Brave and Toasty

What a fun day!  It was great to catch up with my friend – she lives right in Williamsburg so it’s a little sad I’m so busy I don’t see her more.  That is going to be one my goals this year, getting out and about more.

Before I left for dinner (my subway trip was about 45minutes) I decided to have a small snack – nonfat plain Choibani with fresh blueberries and some unsweetened coconut.

hpim15131

Blueberries were on sale at the grocery store and these were delicious!  I bought a package just to save for later.

I loved getting to see Williamsburg, it’s one of the Brooklyn places I haven’t gotten to explore that much.  We stopped in at the bar where my friend works to get a drink.  It was nice and cozy; they sell coffee during the day and have a shelf full of board games.  A and I might head over there to do our schoolwork some weekend soon.

hpim1514

I drank a seasonal beer (can’t remember the name) that rocked my socks – it tasted just like Christmas!  Here’s a picture of Lana and I at the bar.

hpim15151

 

Next we headed over to Wild Ginger, a vegan restaurant.  I ordered fresh coconut water to drink.

hpim1517

How much fun is that?

My meal came with a green salad with ginger dressing to start.

hpim1516

And I got the General Tso’s soy protein as my entree.

hpim15181

This was really good.  I’m not sure what the protein was, but the taste and texture reminded me of seitan.  It was great to catch up with my friend; especially over such yummy eats.

A leaves tomorrow for an interview so I headed home pretty early to get in some quality time.  He insisted we stop for snacks on the way home so I am currently munching on a Bueno bar.

hpim1519

We are watching The Brave Little Toaster and getting our cuddle on.  Hope everyone has a great night!

4 Responses to Brave and Toasty

  1. Sharon says:

    Oh, love fresh coconut milk! i had it when I was in Vietnam, it’s so awesome! Glad you have such a great time!!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Aww, so glad that you had a fun day!! You certainly deserve it 🙂

    Oh my, that movie TOTALLY brings back nostalgia for me – looooove it!!

  3. Gar says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog! There’s another Wild Ginger in Manhattan (not sure if it’s related to the Brooklyn one). It’s a smaller restaurant, but the food is pretty good.

  4. […] say that lower-middle class families wouldn’t enjoy a Vegan joint as much as the residents in Williamsburg.  Good food is good food, there’s no reason for what I see as culinary segregation.  What […]

Leave a Reply

