Breathe

This isn’t a day post (I will just resume tomorrow), but rather a quick update.  You may have noticed that I nixed all mention of the new “21 day” feature from the blog.  I did some serious thinking today and realized that endeavour was more likely to add to my stress than reduce it.  This last year and a half (working at my school) has been really hard for me, and as angry with myself as I am that I am currently so out of shape, I’m trying to cut myself some slack.  A and I laugh all the time that this experience has been a blessing because we will be so grateful for the little things (a non-hostile job, having more than one room in our house, not having 8 hours of work when we get home from work, etc, etc, etc) when it is over.  However, when I’m honest with myself I know that this experience is taking a toll on me physically and emotionally.  I read a really touching post by Jenna today about her “yoga development” and it really hit home for me.  As much as I want to make the gym a priority (new years and all :>) I’m going to make sure I don’t beat myself up.

I’ve got to get back to work, but hopefully I shall return in the morning much more relaxed.  What do you do to help yourself just chill?

3 Responses to Breathe

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Rest up!!

    To “chill,” I do lots of yoga and magazine-reading.

  2. Emily says:

    Hey Emily,

    I’m sorry to hear about how tough your job has been – my roommate is a teacher and I have so much respect for anyone who makes that their ambition in life – it certainly is not easy. For me, relaxing is all about a good book and taking the time to do some stretches and even some meditation. It does so much to release tension in your body and mind. Hope you have a good day!

  3. carolinebee says:

    ya reading helps me chill…i agree that you should do whatever will help RELIEVE your stress rather than add it, and the blog is all for fun anyways so do whateva you want! Sometimes i go for a walk, I’m not a bath person, mindless tv also helps b/c i’m just not thinking about whatever is stressing me out. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

