God Bless Democracy

Holly heck I am glad I didn’t have to go to work today!  And jury duty started at 8:30 so I even got to sleep in a teensy bit.  Equally exciting was that I got to leave at 1:00 (usually you have to stay until 5pm).  I got chosen for a jury in the first round so I finished before most people.  I’m not really supposed to discuss it, but my case is in civil court and it involves a (supposed) icy sidewalk and subsequent (supposed) injury.  Unfortunately the trial starts on January 20th – that’s right, the last day before the ELA state exam.  At minimum I will miss the first day of the test, probably the entire thing.  It’s frustrating, because I am supposed to be proctorring my girls’ class and a lot of them have testing anxiety, I’m a bit worried that my absence will effect their scores.  My principal is not going to be happy when I tell her tomorrow.

When I woke up this morning I made myself a decadent bowl of oats so I would be ready for a long haul in court.

hpim1530

A 1/3C of oats cooked with a largish banana, topped with butterscotch chips, unsweetened coconut, and skim milk. Just look at those banana chunks!

hpim15311

I packed a Sigg full of h2o and a caramel nut blast Balance bar as a snack.

hpim1529

I didn’t realize until after I ate it that this bar had 4grams of saturated fat!  I try to avoid it and I would never knowingly eat a bar with more than 2grams.  I must have been tired when I bought this one to try.

I was so excited when I got to go home that I stopped in at Wendy’s to continue milking my day off feelings 🙂

hpim1532

I ate a #9 with a big glass of water.  (just fyi – the red stuff on the fries is paprika)

 hpim1533

Lunch isn’t usually a moment for social commentary, and I looooved my chicken nuggets, but the fast food industry disappoints me.  In my neighborhood (Park Slope isn’t ritzy but it’s pretty affluent) there is not fast food within walking distance.  But when I’m in a poorer area I pass 10+ fast food places on the 5minute walk to the subway station.  I’m not saying get rid of fast food, but the way the manufacturers bunch is not beneficial to our society.  While I think the biggest shame is that everyone is not better informed about nutrition, it’s pretty disappointing that most of the bad choices happen to show up in areas that are less likely to have received health education.  Besides that, who is to say that lower-middle class families wouldn’t enjoy a Vegan joint as much as the residents in Williamsburg.  Good food is good food, there’s no reason for what I see as culinary segregation.  What do you think about it?

I plan on making good use of my “found time” for the rest of today.  On the agenda –

  • put away the laundry my fabulous husband washed for me this morning
  • finish my school work for the week – finish lesson plans and prepare materials
  • cook a big batch of dinner to carry us through until Friday
  • go to a Pilates mat class at Crunch @ 7:15
  • and finally at 9pm watch an hour of new Scrubs!
2 Responses to God Bless Democracy

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    Butterscotch chips?!?!??! Yes, please!! 😀

    Good luck with your agenda!!

    **Just as a heads up: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  2. carolinebee says:

    WOO you made the cut! 😀 ha, i had jury duty this summer, but i didn’t get chosen, but it was really cool to listen to the little speech that the judge gave and stuff…i really wanted to do it and feel like I was on law and order, i’m v. dramatic. I completely agree with the lack of nutritious options in less-affluent communities. I went to school in South Central LA, which is a very urban community with high crime rates, unstable families, gangs, etc….they are actually passing legislation to prevent more fast food restaurants…it is so out of control, and it is affecting children’s growth, obesity rates, diabetes, ahhhh i hate it! It is such a huuge social issue in this country that is completely ignored. I totally see it!! Good luck with the boss!

Leave a Reply

