Three Day Weekends Rock My Socks

This will be a quickish post because we are heading out soon for our bus to Maryland!  We are heading back from my family’s late Sunday night so I will probably do a recap post Monday morning.  Vacation plans mostly involve visiting at home because of the intense winter weather headed our way.  How cold is it supposed to get in your ‘hood this weekend?

It is possible that last night for a snack I made myself a homemade open-faced fluffernutter,

hpim15631

but that’s just a possibility.

hpim1564

We are pretty much out of food, so this morning I packed a Kashi fruit and nut trail mix bar for the train.

hpim15651

When I got to East New York I was majorly craving something fruity so I bought this bad boy –

hpim1566

It is huge, but thirst quenching!  I know most Arizonas are disgustingly sweet but this had only 150calories total (50 per serving) so I thought I’d give it a try.  Verdict – not too sweet, not too filling, just right!  I also ate 2 starbursts that a student brought for me.

For lunch I was actually glad to be in East New York for a change.  We didn’t have any food to pack, and I realized I was carrying a near empty wallet, but I realized I could get 4 garlic knots and a diet coke across the street from my school for $2.  I ate with co-workers so I didn’t take a picture but it wasn’t the most exciting meal anyways.

I hurried home from school and packed quickly so I had time to eat a meal before we had to leave.  We are low on food and I couldn’t make a decision so I made “A Baker’s Kitchen Sink.”

hpim1568

This was 1/3C of oats cooked with a medium banana, topped with butterscotch chips, unsweetened coconut, a teaspoon of natural pb, and a sprinkle each of cinnamon and nutmeg.  Just look at those spices!

hpim15691

I am hoping I can grab something small before we board the bus, but if not at least I have something in my stomach.  I will leave you until Monday with a hearty wish of a good weekend!

8 Responses to Three Day Weekends Rock My Socks

  1. Sharon says:

    Whoa, delicious eats! The fluffernutter is so cool!
    Hope you have a great time this weekend!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    OOOOOOH, decadent sandwich and oats.

    FULLY enjoy your long weekend!!

  3. Mel says:

    Fluffernutters make me think of my childhood! That sounds so good right now!

    Good luck with the cold, we’ve had it the last two days!

  4. carolinebee says:

    Good luck with the frigid temps, I live in so cal..so literally, the low is like 73 this weekend- it’s not cool though it’s really hot and dry, and I attribute it to global warming, sad 😦 Have fun on the bus!!

  5. Lara says:

    Ok, I have never heard or tried a fluffernutter but we DEFINITELY need to get acquainted!!! YUM!
    Enjoy your 3-day weekend!

  6. Sarah says:

    omg a fluffernutter!!! i haven’t thought of those in ages, but i am certainly thinking about them right now. my mouth is watering!

    enjoy your trip!

  7. Olga says:

    That fluffernutter looks obscenely good! I also live in Brooklyn (Sheepshead Bay), it’s nice to find another fellow local blogger! I hope you don’t mind if I add you to my blog roll to keep up =]

Leave a Reply

