Still One Day Left

Man oh man I like three day weekends!  This post will just be a recap, because we actually just got up!  I did a lot of nibbling this weekend, so the pictures give a general idea, I ate way more than what is shown.

We headed up to Baltimore by train Friday night.  We did poor planning and we ended up hungry the whole way there 😦  My aunt always has yummy food in her house though (they stock up for A because they call him the human trash can) so I had two slices of rosemary toast with jam as a midnight snack.  Alongside some english toffee tea.

hpim1570

We woke up on Saturday and my uncle cooked cheesy eggs, turkey bacon, and more rosemary toast.

hpim1572

I had mine alongside a coffee with a little half and half (all my coffee this weekend is half and half because that’s what they had, but I definitely prefer the taste of skim milk).

hpim1571

I also had small slice of homemade cinnamon raisin bread that my aunt’s friend sent over.

hpim1573

We spent Saturday at home hanging out and playing board games – A and I are big into board games and my family is too so we all had a great time.  I played Apples to Apples for the first time and I recommend it to anyone looking for a new board game.  I nibbled on some nuts and drank some soda while we played.  I usually don’t show diet (cokes) but I have to show my aunt’s fabulous glasses!

hpim1575

My uncle did dinner on the grill Saturday night and we all hung out in the kitchen and talked.  We all nibbled on peppers with hummus and rosemary bread with dipping oil.

hpim15771

Dinner was Steak and Cake – rib eye and crab cakes!  I obviously skipped the steak, so my plate is two “cakes,” cocktailsauce, a small piece of grilled chicken and a helping of my aunt’s roasted potatoes – yams, sweets, and fingerlings.

hpim15792

After dinner we hung out and my cousins and I painted our nails 🙂

hpim1586

Sunday morning I had to eat more of the cinnamon raisin bread, with two mini quiches my aunt said were actually a Weight Watches recipe!

hpim1582

Alongside more coffee.

hpim1581

Everyone in Catonsville was super excited for the Ravens game so we made/decorated purple football cookies to bring to a party that night.

hpim1583

Here’s A making his “handsome face” next to some of his handywork.

hpim1584

We went to the mall to get me some new shoes – my oh so sexy bunion is making it so my boots hurt my feet; and then we came home and prepared more food for the party.  We even made cornbread with purple honey-butter.

hpim1587

I ate a warm slice straight from the oven.

hpim1585

At the football party that night A and I had a good time catching up with some family friends and ravaging the party snacks!  There was cheese and crackers, brie topped with dried blueberries and walnuts (that was my idea!), and the world’s best cheesy crab dip – I ate a ton of everything.

hpim1589

My uncle drove us to the bus stop at 8o’clock and we made our way back to the city.  I did actually eat an eggnog milkshake from McDonalds on the ride but my camera was packed away so I couldn’t take a picture.  A and I both had a really great time.  I ate way too much but my aunt’s food is a very “worth it” situation.  I have a ton to do today so I’ve got to scadaddle – are you off or at work today?  What are you doing with your found time?

8 Responses to Still One Day Left

  1. Sarah says:

    rosemary toast? crab cakes? cornbread with honey butter? brie with blueberries and walnuts? WOW, definitely a very “worth it” food situation! I’m lazing around today, but will be off very soon for a run through Prospect Park!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Lovin’ the cinnamon-raisin bread, mini peppers, the football-shaped cookies – yum!! 🙂

    Good luck with your day today!! I have personal-training and some schoolwork to finish before tomorrow.

  3. dailygoods says:

    glad you enjoyed maryland! love all the food! i live about 15 minutes away from catonsville… love those crab cakes and football cookies!!

  4. biz319 says:

    That cornbread looks AMAZING!!

  5. Sharon says:

    Football cookies are too cool! And mmmm homemade cinnamon raisin bread? MY FAVORITE!!!

  6. Olga says:

    purple honey butter?! oo000ooo and those quiches look great!

  7. Lara says:

    I know it’s non-food related but your ring is gorgeous! The quiches also caught my eye and look delish!

  8. Emily says:

    Lara – thank you! I’m still pretty excited about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

