Tavern on the Green

I guess my title gives away the goods upfront, but it’s been a fun day.  Actually, for how stressful the beginning was the day was surprisingly awesome.

This morning I ate an exciting breakfast of a Mojo bar on the train.

hpim1651

I loved Cliff Bars, and love Mojo bars even more, and this did not disappoint.  It was like eating a Planter’s Peanut Bar, only better tasting and healthier!

I was too sick to pack lunch last night so I didn’t pack anything, and by the time lunch rolled around today I was exausted, so lunch ended up being a can of grape soda.

fanta20grape

It was Friday, and a lot of kids were out on a field trip, and today was just ridiculous.  A group of teachers is planning to speak to the principal on Monday about how out of control the 8th graders are.  I’m doing my best to make sure we learn something and am focusing on my “good eggs.”  I observed a science teacher today with one of my worst classes and it was bittersweet.  They were as crazy for her (and as a result didn’t do much learning) as they are for me, which on one hand makes me feel like less of a crappy teacher and on the other hand makes me incredibly sad because they spend the day playing instead of learning and it’s such a wasted opportunity.

Even though my sister-in-law came today I didn’t get home until after 6pm!  A group of teachers stayed until 4:00 to meet with a parent/student about a girl we are all concerned about.  After that I rode home with Mr. C, but he had to take a fellow teacher home first and one wrong turn led us to Staten Island!  The teacher we were taking home got so upset today she made herself sick.  She’s had a variety of health issues this year (being a 1st year teacher is really hard), I’m pretty worried about her.  Her class was freaking out and broke her laptop and projector today.  She got so upset she had a panic attack and because she’s having some breathing issues she ended up fainting and throwing up.  She is a great person and she really cares about the kids and I’m really frustrated by the whole system.

On to happier things….when I finally did get home A and his sister met me on the curb and hurried to Kodak to make my mommy some wedding prints.  I’m an only child and she still doesn’t have any wedding photos up!

Before we left the apartment I had to try one of the mini cupcakes my sil brought us.

hpim1652

Each one is 95calories and it was delish!  I know it’s silly to eat dessert before a nice dinner, but with no dinner last night and no lunch today I was getting a bit frantic for food 🙂  Finally, we headed into the city!

A and I have been to Tavern on the Green before, but it is such a landmark we knew we had to go back.  My sil had been wanting to try it, and it was Restraunt Week so the timing was perfect.  We did the special menu (like a pre fixe) so we got apps, dinner, and dessert!

I started with two super tasty pieces of bread.

hpim16571

For my first course I had Mushroom Ravioli with peas, sauteed shitake mushrooms and truffle oil.

hpim1658

This was fabulous, the mushrooms had the best earthy flavor.

For my second I had Thyme-Crusted French Cut Chicken Breast with root vegetable risotto, dijon mustard sauce, and French beans.

hpim1659

The beens was wonderful, but the main meal components were only ok.  I ate about 3/4 of the chicken and rice.

For desset I had to get the Creme Brulee with a demerara sugar crust and a almond tuile.

hpim1660

I adore creme brulee; my grandma actually bought me a torch and sugar set that was my favorite Christmas gift one year.  This was good, but the cookie was the best part.  I ate it alongside a cup of super strong coffee.

hpim1661

When I eat creme brulee I always stir a few spoonfuls into my coffee, does anyone else do this?

All in all it was a great time.  Here is a pic of A and I being festive (it’s a little glare-y, but the camera died directly after this shot).

 hpim16621

It’s been a good first day and we have lots of exiciting plans for day 2 of my sil’s trip!  Have a fun night!  What was your fanciest restraunt experience?

4 Responses to Tavern on the Green

  1. Sharon says:

    Oh my gosh, that is so intense for that teacher! I really hope things turn out for her in the end!

    And you two look great! Love the picture!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Lovely cupcakes and final photo!!

  3. Sarah says:

    ahhhhhh tavern on the green, i love it!! nyu had our formal there in my junior year, and we all felt so important. the food MADE the experience … but i had to sleep with a bucket that night because i thought i might explode, haha. ohh the old days … 🙂

  4. Liz says:

    I just started reading your blog….I am a sped teacher in Hilo, HI and I feel so bad for you..We used to have a big discipline problem but we changed principals two years ago and it got a lot better. Hope your situation gets better!

Leave a Reply

