Eating Our Way Across the City

My title says it all, I am glad I went for a run this morning!  It was a day of lots of walking (my favorite) and fabulous eats (another favorite, obvi)!

After we finished up breakfast A and his sister went for a walk so I could get freshened up from my run.  Our apt/bathroom is so small that there is just no way to get naked, shower, and get unnaked in the bathroom with the door shut.  They ended up at Starbucks so I met them there once I was gussied.  I finally got to try a Vanilla Rooibos Latte.

hpim1669

I ordered a tall, nonfat.  This was wonderful.  I try not to drink my tea with milk because it takes away the health benefits, but this could definiately be an occasional treat.

From there we headed up into Soho for a foodie tour.  Our first stop was Economy Candy.

hpim16701

It was so fun, the place was packed!  The walls were filled with *cheap* old-time candy.

hpim1672

 hpim1673

Here was what I walked away with.

hpim1695

A Malo Cup, a strawberry yogurt Ritter Sport, and a 1/2lb of fruit slices to mail to my daddy.  I tried a fruit slice this evening and it was the best I’ve ever had, if this is one of your favorites go to the site and order them asap!

I also ate 2pieces of A’s Turkish Delight, his favorite candy.

hpim1685

Our next stop was sugar Sweet sunshine,

hpim1674

 hpim16751

a cupcake shop that is the antithesis of Magnolia.

hpim16761

A ordered the Ooey Gooey and I got Pistacio.

hpim1677

They were $1.50 each and absolutely yumlicious!  I deeply enjoyed mine, as shown here:

hpim1680

And how can you not love a place that gives you 10 reasons to eat a cupcake?

hpim1684

Running on a sugar buzz, we headed back to the train to go uptown to the Peanut Butter Company.

hpim1687

They were giving out free samples so I tasted some pb pretzels.

hpim1688

A and I semi-shared (he is a great taster but not so great at giving tastes!), he ordered a non-pb tuna melt.

hpim1692

I did manage to sneak a few bites and it was very tasty.

I ordered the peanut butter sampler.

hpim1691

The three of us shared; I didn’t eat any of the crackers, but I ate most of the crudites.  Obviously we couldn’t finish all the peanut butter so look at the leaning tower of pb I got to take home!

hpim1694

And of course we had to share skim milk with a crazy straw 🙂

hpim16891

Bellies full, we headed back to Park Slope.  A and his sister actually split from me at the train and went to see a movie while I ran some more errands.  I got home before them and made a beer and cheese dip.  I was all excited to post a recipe, but alas, it was a disaster.  The dip was chunky/runny so I had to skim/microwave/flour thicken it.  I finally got to become dip, but I had used one of A’s random beer and only he liked the flavor!

hpim1702

I ate 2 bites (and one 150calorie serving of chips) but I would not recommend it.

Despite our lack of cheesy-beery goodness, we were in high spirits and we played a rousing game of homemade Scattergories.  Finally, it was time for the final meal; Pizza!

hpim1703

I had 2 slices, black olive and eggplant.  Look at how frickin good that looks!

hpim1704

All in all it’s been a fabulous foodie day.  Night!

By the Way – This post has taken awhile because I’ve taken a few blogger breaks to kick A and L’s butts at studio style beer pong.

hpim1705

hpim1706

What is your favorite drinking game?  Inexplicably, even though I’m terrible at everything, I rock at beer pong 🙂

7 Responses to Eating Our Way Across the City

  1. Sharon says:

    Haha, oh my goodness, what a fun and tasty time! So much cool candy too! Love it!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    PB&Co.!!!!!! Love that place and their products 😀

  3. Olga says:

    I love Peanut Butter & Co. shop, I was there for the first time this January, and it’s awesome!

    Hahah studio beer pong. I’m pretty good at that and flip cup too!

  4. Mel says:

    Wow you had a food and fun filled day! All of the places you went look amazing!

    I cannot play beer pong for the life of me, I’m just not good at it.

  5. Sarah says:

    wow, what a fun day!! i’ve STILL never been to pb & co. it’s been on my agenda for 8 years!

  6. Jenn says:

    Hey there. I saw you over at Healthy Tipping and just wanted to say that I wanted jalapeno poppers SOOOO badly too! I know they sell them at the grocery store in the freezer section (Friday’s brand I think) but Whole Foods made them FRESH when I was there Friday Night in their hot bar. I didn’t get them (thought to save the cals) but just wanted to let you know!

  7. […] I headed promptly home from school (of course!) and my sweet husband surprised me with a smooshed cupcake from Sugar, Sweet, Sunshine because he knew how much I enjoyed my last one. […]

Leave a Reply

