Mix ‘n Match

Good evening, morning, midnight!  It’s been an exciting day.  Amid the fun I crossed off all but one item (school work, shocking right) on my to-do list.

Post breakfast I finished up my resume, applied to a grad program, recorded my #s/qs for all the other grad programs, and planned our meals for the week.  A was out and about shadowing a local podiatrist so I was all alone to work.

When A got home around 4 it was time for a late lunch.  I bought this Lean Quisine pannini on a whim, but it was pretty tasty.

hpim17461

The plate is just for show because I actually wrapped it in a papertowel so I could eat it on the go as we headed to the grocery store.

hpim17471

On the way there (post-sandwich, pre-shopping) we stopped and used our Starbucks card.

hpim1748

I had a tall, nonfat iced chai latte.  I realize it’s below 40* outside, but I’ve been super parched all day.  Does anyone else find that hot drinks are just not thirst-quenching?

On the way home from the store I attempted to stop into a little store to redeem a coupon for Kefir (never tried it before).  Store #1 had them, but they were months past date – yuck.  I ended up running around to 3 different stores while A went home with the groceries.  All total I scurried an additional 1.6miles before I had success!

Once we were both finally home it was time for dinner.  I am really big on mixing food cultures so we made some Mediterranean Style Huevos Rancheros.  For 2 –

  • pour 1T evoo into a hot skillet.  Saute 1/2 a large onion, chopped.
  • add 3C raw spinach to the pan
  • add 2egg tomatoes, chopped to the pan
  • add 1/2C marinated artichoke hearts to the pan
  • beat 3 eggsin a separate bowl and add them to the veggies
  • once the eggs have mostly set, add 1/2C crumbled blue cheese
  • split eggs between 2 WW tortillas
  • top each with 1T roasted red pepper and onion relish

hpim1750

Since we were eating brinner, I knew I had to have coffee.

hpim1749

Cappuccino flavored Kefir!

All together now.

hpim1751

I actually didn’t take a single bit of the tortilla and it ended up being a sort of wasteful “plate.”  We ate quickly and hurried out to the movie theatre – to find that both of our movies were sold out 😦  So we bought tickets to the 10:20 shows and ran some more errands before we went home.

When it was finally time to head back to the movies I was a little hungry again so I packed 2clementines (I also bought a large diet coke) as a movie snack.

hpim17531

I also bought a (small, NOT movie sized, YaY) bag of Shockers.

hpim1754

I saw “He’s Just Not That Into You” (sidenote – I HATE chick flicks, I am a total dude about movies, but the acting talent in this looked too appealing) and A saw “Slumdog Millionaire” so I could discuss it with him.  He thought it was great too, two recs, go see it!

It’s 1:30 in the morning so it is definitely time for bed, sweet dreams all!

4 Responses to Mix ‘n Match

  1. […] Mix ‘n Match « Super Caloric Chalk Dust […]

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Glad the films were favorable!!

  3. […] Emily, from Eating Chalk: Mediterranean Style Huevos Rancheros […]

  4. Emily says:

    Your dinner looks great! So yummy!

    I can’t wait to see He’s Just Not That Into You, I agree, I’m not a big fan of “chick flicks” but the cast is too good to pass up!

    Hope you have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

