You CAN Win Friends with Salad

The title is a nod to A’s appreciation of tonight’s dinner, but more on that later.

In spite of last night’s late ending, I managed to drag myself out of bed, into the shower, and out the door in time to get to school and get set up.  I ate a apple pie Larabar on the train for breakfast.

hpim1765

 hpim1773

Randomly, my crazy mixed class was perfect today; it was a very much appreciated change of pace.  The rest of the day wasn’t as hot, but I feel like I’m all whined out so I’ll just leave it at that 🙂

It was a busy school day so I ended up eating lunch in courses spread out throughout the day.  A bag of green seedless grapes during my 11am prep, and a Vita Coco, pina colada flavored unsweetened coconut milk during lunch time.

hpim17721

And the leftovers from last night’s dinner as I left school around 4.

hpim1770

Instead of coming straight home I went to Starbucks so I could get my grading for the day all finished up.  I ate a chocolate cream cheese muffin and my signature coffee order (grande with room iced Americano; with skim milk I add in) while I worked.

hpim1774

At 330calories this muffin was the healthiest choice in the display case, isn’t that sort of sad Starbucks?

When I got home I kept with the productivity theme and made the rest of my supplies for the week and bubbled in my official 2nd quarter grades.  It took me longer to fill out the stupid grading forms than it did to actually grade my students!!!

Dinner tonight, actually started last night,

hpim1771

yogurt spiced chicken.

Put desired amount of skinless (bone-in would be better but I just can’t do bones) chicken breasts in a large baggie with enough fat-free plain yogurt to coat.  Shake in salt, pepper, curry, and paprika.  Smoosh bag around and refrigerate overnight.  Cook for 45minutes at 375*.

I ate 1/2 a chicken breast sliced over salad that A decided to rave about.

hpim1778

  • a Romaine base
  • 3 chopped figs
  • 10 walnuts
  • 1oz chopped smoked Gouda
  • 15squirts Balsalmic Breeze dressing

All together.

hpim1779

It was super-yummy and satisfying.

Somehow, it is 10:30, so I’ve got to scoot!  What are your top three favorite salad toppers?

7 Responses to You CAN Win Friends with Salad

  1. AnAppleADay says:

    mmm APPLE PIE!

  2. carolinebee says:

    For some reason i DO not like that flavor larabar! I like the chocolate or nutty ones 😀 And why are those starbucks treats sooo amazing?? Their biscotti’s are REALLY good and only 100 cals or so…For my salads- probably chicken, nuts, and cheese!! Have a good one!

  3. Sharon says:

    Oh wow, delicious. Favorite salad toppers? Um…. nuts, nuts, nuts? LOL, well, I like to add fruits into my salad, and yams.. I wouldn’t call them toppers though. lol

  4. Favorite salad toppers…fruit of any kind, nuts of any kind, and shrimp is a really nice treat!

  5. VeggieGirl says:

    I ATE THAT SAME LARABAR YESTERDAY!! 😀

  6. Emily says:

    Hrmm…my favorite salad toppers are probably avocado, bell pepper, edamame, cranberries and feta cheese. Yum! 🙂

    Hope you have a good Tuesday!

  7. fitforfree says:

    hey! drop me an email at avkannan [at] gmail [dot] com and we can get the ball rollin’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

