Best of Intentions

Not much school work done today (I know, I know!) but I did make it to the gym!  I ran the .65miles there because I’m always late to warm up.  Then I took a 45minute Pilates class, which I adore even though I’m out of shape.  On the way out I spotted a “People: Style Watch” and convinced myself to do 15minutes on the stepmill at level 7.

When I got home I found out that friends in Williamsburg wanted us to come up for drinks so I had to take a quick shower to get dinner started in a hurry.

We had quite the spread:  Salmon Patties, Roasted Purple Cauliflower, and since you always need something fried with a burger, Oven “Fried” Okra.  The cauliflower was roasted in the usual way, and the okra recipe can be found here, but here is the recipe for the patties-

Salmon Patties, 2 servings

  • 2cans (6oz each) of boneless skinless salmon
  • 1t Old Bay Seasoning
  • 1/2 a small onion, grated
  • 1/4C Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg
  1. Mush all of the ingredients together in a large bowl.  Once everything is combined form 4 patties.
  2. Cook with 1t evoo in a pan on medium high heat, time will depend on your settings

The cauliflower tasted just like the boring kind, but it looked much prettier.

hpim1898

And the okra was fantabulous.

hpim18971

I made a dipping sauce of ketchup, maple syrup, and apple cider vinegar for the side.

hpim1901

And I took the two smaller patties so A could have the bigger.

hpim1899

All together.

hpim1900

After dinner I was still ravenous.  I can’t understand why I’m so hungry!  I ate some Liberte Low Fat Honey Flavored Goat Cheese as dessert.

hpim1902

Just kidding, I don’t know why they call it cheese, it was basically just Greek yogurt.

After dinner we headed off for the long trainride to Williamsburg.  We stopped to get a to go small skim hot chocolate for the commute.

hpim1903

{Caution: Contents of this cup may be very delicious!}

We had a great time seeing our friends, we went to a couple of cute bars in the area; I really love Williamsburg.  Plus, for some reason we all decided it’d be good to walk the 20+ blocks to the 1st bar instead of renting a car, so I got to treck!  I had, unphotographed, a glass of red wine at our friend’s apartment and a Red Stripe at one of the bars.

On the way back to the Slope (much too late!) A had to pee so badly he made us get off the subway!  While we were out we ended up getting YUMMY pizza.

hpim1905

Tired and stuffed, we fell into bed without even setting alarms which is why my post for Sunday will be rushed this evening! 🙂

7 Responses to Best of Intentions

  1. Sarah says:

    haha, having to pee when you’re stuck on the subway is the WORST!
    where the heck did you find purple cauliflower??
    and was that “goat cheese” really not goat-y at all?
    AND thanks for the salmon patties recipe — i just bought a can of salmon yesterday!

    good luck going back to the kiddles tomorrow …

    • Emily says:

      Sarah – thanks, I need all the luck I can get! The goat “cheese” tasted identical to every other flavored Greek yogurt I have tried. And I actually got the purple cauliflower in your hood at Union Market.

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    Gorgeous cauliflower!!

    Best of luck with the new workweek!!

  3. Betsy says:

    Mmmm I LOVE white pizza!!

  4. OMGosh it’s Purple!!!!! I love it! I usually eat an entire cauliflower with my protein and carbs in order to feel completely full, so maybe it wasn’t enough of that purple stuff! 🙂

    BY the way, your handwriting is crazy awesome!! I love how bubbly and neat it is!

  5. Sharon says:

    LOL, love the pizza! =D
    And I need to try purple cauliflower, so beautiful!

  6. biz319 says:

    I have never even HEARD of purple cauliflower, let alone seen it! I bet it would be a good way to get kids to try it!

    Good workout with the pilates too!

Leave a Reply

