Estaba Cansado

Sooooooo, I didn’t get out of bed until around 6pm 🙂  When my alarm woke me up at 8 I felt like a bus had hit me so I slept in.  When I got up around 11 I felt so crappy that I had slept in for three hours that I ended up doing nothing but watching tv all day.  When I’m being rational, I know how silly it is to turn a small time loss into a major productivity loss, but this is really something I struggle with.  Bit by bit though I feel like I’m getting better at tackling my “all or nothing” issue.  Does anyone else struggle with this?  How have you dealt?

At some point early in my tv fest I ate a bowl of 1C of Kashi Blueberry Crunch with the last of my plain nonfat Kefir.

hpim2008

Yummy as always.  I will seriously miss this cereal over the next two weeks; it has honey in it so it won’t fit into my 2weeks vegan.

A had been out dealing with our taxes while I wallowed and when he came home around 6 we decided to go to the grocery store.  My grandma gave me a Trader Joe’s gift card for Christmas and we used it on our all things vegan mega buy.  I got a lot of exciting stuff!  When we got back to the Slope we needed to hit our little store for a few more items so we decided to go to dinner on the way.

I was really craving Mexican (clearly not a cuisine that will fit a vegan diet!) so we went to a place in our ‘hood.  I love restraunts that give complimentary chips and salsa.

hpim2010

I basically cleaned out this basket before A had time to reach across the table!

For dinner I got the vegetarian chile rellanos.

hpim2011

So good, but big!  I was pretty starving, so I managed to eat all but a 1/4 of this.

When we got our check they brought out complimentary after dinner drinks,

hpim20142

a shot glass of Kahlua topped with whipped cream and cinnamon.  I had half of mine.

On the way home from our final grocery run we stopped into Melissa Sweet and got a dark chocolate peanut butter dessert.

hpim2015

It was like a Reece’s with crunchy pieces and pretty much rocked my world.

I’m off to turn my clocks forward, happy springing forward all!  I will see you tomorrow with my 2week vegan challenge.

What are you?  vegan?  vegetarian?  flexitarian?  card-carrying carnivore?

8 Responses to Estaba Cansado

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    OOOOH love those desserts!!

    Good luck with the challenge!!

  2. Emily says:

    Flexitarian…prefer the veggies but not opposed to lean meats. 🙂

  3. Allison says:

    That dessert looks UNBELIEVABLE! I’m definitely a flexitarian – I’m not crazy about meat, but like the wiggle room!

  4. marafaye says:

    Im a totally all or nothing person… I’m working on it though! I’m a complete omnovire. I eat just about everything!

  5. sue says:

    i’m looking forward to seeing your challenge. i don’t think i could ever give up my favorite korean meat dishes but i find myself eating less and less meat, so i guess i’m a flexitarian.

  6. Sarah says:

    oooh, i had a bite of that choc pb dessert last time i was at sweet melissa — so good!!

    i know you’re struggling with the all-or-nothing mentality, but i am so jealous you were able to sleep in. your body probably needed it! the second i wake up, whether it’s 5am or 8am, i’m up for good because the to-do list running through my head won’t let me fall back asleep no matter how hard i try!

  7. verbalriot says:

    Ummmmm LOVE the dessert and now I want Mexican food hardcore dammit.

    I’m from Eastern Europe…I’d be banished from my culture if I stopped eating meat! And dairy? Sour cream=ketchup for Ruskies.

    • Emily says:

      Verbalriot – if it makes you feel better the minute I read sour cream I got a hardcore craving for blintzes!

Leave a Reply

