Facts

  1. I did not go to the gym.
  2. I hate myself a little.
  3. I’m really glad I got a chance to decompress.

I kind of just sat.  I watched some Wife Swap, read a few magazines, made dinner.  I was feeling tired and super hungry and I let it get the best of me.

As I sat around I ate a HUGE handful of (unphotographed) nuts and the rest of the baby carrots with about 2T TJ’s hummus.

hpim2032

I also had another serving of chocolate soymilk.

hpim2037

This was VitaSoy.

hpim2036

For dinner I said “screw this vegan crap,” and made burgers and fries!

hpim2033

Just joshing – they were oven baked fries and black bean burgers.  For the fries I thinly sliced two small potatoes, sprayed them with Smart Balance cooking spray, sprinkled with salt, and baked at 475* for 25minutes.

hpim2034

The burgers were 2cans of rinsed and drained black beans, mashed with 1t poppy seeds, 1t oregano, and 1pinch salt.  I made 8 mini patties which I “cooked” with 2T evoo.  We have enough for leftovers tomorrow.

hpim2035

I scarfed the fries and ate 1.5 of my patties, with ketchup.  My guilt is forcing me to set the alarm early to work tomorrow so I’ve got to go, don’t let the bedbugs bite!

How do you feel when you miss a gym session?

14 Responses to Facts

  1. carolinebee says:

    like a craphole!!!! But i’m working on that 😀 It’s not good to beat ourselves off over a missed workout- life’s too short!!

  2. VeggieGirl says:

    No worries!! You deserve the rest.

  3. Allison says:

    Those fries look heavenly! I can’t just have a little TJ’s hummus – I sit down and eat the whole container!

  4. verbalriot says:

    I work my ass off hardcore the next day if I miss a gym sesh! but we all need to just sit around sometimes, for sure!

  5. fitforfree says:

    I feel guilty too . . . but I should give myself a break (and so should you!) 🙂

  6. Sarah says:

    sometimes i feel lousy … but if you don’t feel it, you don’t feel it!! it’s fine to take a break because you’ll end up hating it if you force yourself to go. sometimes you’ve got to leave yourself wanting more, ya know?

  7. Hangry Pants says:

    Yeah honestly I feel like pooey, but try not to be too hard on yourself. Teaching is draining and requires rest.

  8. Emily says:

    love the fries!
    I feel a little disappointed in myself if I miss working out when I know I should…but I try not to obsess…tomorrow is always a new day!

  9. Erin says:

    Hey – I was just stopping by because I noticed you’re on the list for the NYC blogger dinner. I was excited to read that you’re a first year teacher in NYC too! I’m sure we’ll have lots to complain about together…

    • Emily says:

      Erin -YaY! I was so worried I’d be the only one there who was bitter about life! Just kidding, I added you to my blogroll 🙂

  10. Sharon says:

    Oh wow, those fries look delicious!

  11. Jordan says:

    I tend to feel guilty about missing the gym as well but I don’t beat myself up about it. I just work out hard the next time or whatever. no biggie! those fries and burgers look delicious. i think i might make something similar tonight!

  12. […] Read the original: Facts « Super Caloric Chalk Dust […]

  13. […] enjoyed the first batch of oven baked fries I made so much that the small potato in the pantry has been taunting me ever […]

Leave a Reply

