BSI – Strawberry entry

Hello, hello readers!  This post is filled with cuteness, but hopefully, the heart of a winner.  I haven’t gotten as much done today as I would like, but I took a 3hour nap with the bear and am feeling very refreshed.

After my nap (and some school work!!!) I made myself a fiji apple with sunflower seed butter and some raisins.

hpim2095

I also might have eaten 3Triscuits and 1Newman’s O off of A’s lunch plate.

For my real lunch, I made my BSI entry.  This week’s contest is strawberry, hosted by Hey What’s For Dinner Mom? I’m a huge fan of the savory/sweet combo, so as soon as I read strawberries I knew I’d be doing something savory.  My final idea?  The Strawberry Club.

I started by taking the 1/2 block of firm tofu leftover from yesterday out of the freezer.  You could just drain and press your tofu, but I do think that the freeze helped the texture for a quick cook.  After preheating the oven to 450*, foil/spraying a baking sheet, and cutting my slightly defrosted tofu into 4 slices and giving them a quick sprinkle of salt, I was ready.  I slathered it was strawberry jelly (specifically the homemade jelly from my m-i-l).  Then I stuck it in the oven for 20minutes.  Once my beauties were out I placed them on some Ezequiel bread.

hpim2096

Then I topped them with a slice of veggie cheese and 2 slices of fakin’ bacon.

hpim20972

Finally I gave my sammie a quick nuke in the microwave to make the “cheese” all melty.

hpim2098

Perfection!  It had the perfect balance of flavors that I like, and was filling without being heavy.  I used “fake” bacon and cheese because of the vegan challenge, but this would be just as good with “real” bacon and cheese.

It’s almost 4, so I’ve got to run.  I would like to get my nails done (my fingers are so ugly right now I’m almost embarrassed to meet new people, straightening the bookshelves is not pretty work), and A and I are going to walk around the city a bit before I go to the blogger meet up.  See you for a fun-filled post this PM!

Do you like savory/sweet, or does the combo make you gag?  My favorite combo seems to be turkey bacon and maple syrup.  Which do you prefer, savory or sweet?

6 Responses to BSI – Strawberry entry

  1. Sarah says:

    i LOVE savory sweet, and your sandwich looks delicious!! i don’t think i can choose which i prefer — my lack of decision-making ability is probably the reason i love the combo in the first place, haha. and i like it even better when some spicy is thrown in, too!

  2. marafaye says:

    OOOH that sandwich looks awesome!!!

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    Love the happy-face snack plate and the sandwich!!

  4. Sharon says:

    Hahaha, that smiley face is awesome!!

  5. verbalriot says:

    i love the savory and sweet combo! great entry!

  6. […] Variety!  During the challenge I really pushed myself to shake up my lunch rut and I’m glad I did.  Our dinners were fun too.  Even though there were a few flops (tofu scramble), some recipes have become new favorites (strawberry tofu club). […]

Leave a Reply

