Check Plus

Best Sunday Ever.  My to do list is beyond checked:

Write my plans for the week.  Make my materials for the week.  Go to Staples for supplies.  Do my grading.  Eat tons of fantabulous vegan food!  All checked off.

I woke up this morning around 10:00 and felt like doing some work before I made breakfast, so I snacked on some Quackers samples from my swag bag.

hpim2106

hpim2107

Noontime breakfast was soooo good, Cinnamon Bun Oats!

hpim2109

I made a 1/2 portion of oats which I topped with “icing,” candied pecans, and cinnamon sugar.  The “icing” was Stoneyfield soy vanilla yogurt mixed with maple syrup.

hpim2108

And here is the recipe for the candied pecans (I made A the same breakfast),

    • 1/2C chopped pecans
    • 1/2T Smart Balance Light
    • 1.5t sugar
    • 1pinch salt
    • Melt the Smart Balance in a small saucepan and then reduce the heat to low.  Pour in pecans and turn to coat.  Sprinkle in sugar and salt, mix and heat until golden (about 2minutes).

I used 2T of pecans on my oats.

hpim2110

So much better than Cinnabon could ever do!

hpim21111

We did work, work, and more work and then headed to Staples.  While we were out we took the time to take a walk.  I bought A an O’Soy chocolate yogurt to try the other day and now he’s obsessed, so we needed back to the “hippie store.”  We bought a very late lunch to go while we were there.

hpim2112

I loved the bbq, so today I tried Sweet and Sour tofu.

hpim2113

Very tasty.  To be honest though, I didn’t drink soda most of last week and I enjoyed my Diet Coke Plus even more!

For dessert I ate one of these tasty Enjoy Life Caramel Apple snack bars.

hpim2114

After more, more, more work A confessed that he had used up all of the rice I was planning to cook for dinner, so we headed back out to the little store by our house.  We had to spend $10 to charge so we picked up a few things, including Sugar Free Jelly Bellys.  I’ve never had them before, but I’m sure you’ll be seeing them soon.

A very late dinner was based around more new items; TJ’s soy chorizo and a can of lentils.

hpim2119

I’d never had lentils before, I am definitly a convert now!  We heated the proteins in a skillet and then mixed them into 4 servings of rice for a delicious 5serving pot.

hpim2123

For a side we used this giganto head of cabbage.

hpim2120

We are officially naming it The Beast, look at what it did to A’s knife!

hpim2122

He was a trouper though, and when I finally had a pile of shreds I put them into a pot where I had evoo over low heat.  I doused the slaw with apple cider vinegar and A1 Steak Sauce and covered it for 5minutes.  Yum, yum.

hpim2124

All together – Rice and Beans Revamped with Steamy Steaky Slaw.

hpim2125

I must have told A how good this was 8 times during our meal!  I actually have one more grading task to do before bed so I’ve got to run, have a great night readies!

Mondays can suck, what are you excited for tomorrow? I am excited to get back to the gym!

*****Updated to add – while I posted I ate a serving of beans (80calories).

hpim2127

The flavor was right but the texture was pretty weird.  I will finish the bag but I will be sticking to the regular beans for now on.

12 Responses to Check Plus

  1. Sarah says:

    yay, more yummy vegan food!! i love your new product adventures!

    and your cinnamon bun oats are so yummy!! i’m going to have to get in on some of that action.

    have a great monday!

  2. Melissa says:

    Thanks for the enjoy life review, I never see there products around even though I am sure they are in WF and most health food stores. I will have to pay more attention.

    While I do love my diet coke, the plus doesn’t do it for me. I guess I am a purist. 🙂

  3. Ooh, I was so coveting the soy chorizo last time I was in TJ’s – I’ll have to get it next time. I do LOVE lentils though! Nice oats, lady. 🙂

  4. eatinnyc says:

    Oooh all looks delish! Forgot to mention I have a recipe book JUST like you do! My mom actually had it bound for me with a picture (obviously) of Mario Batali on the cover. It has all the recipes I have cut out over the years. love it
    S
    htt://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  5. sue says:

    wow everything looks SO good! i’m seeing a lot of new products that i want to try like the soy chorizo! umm, how crazy that the cabbage broke that knife!

  6. Allison says:

    Don’t you love weekends like that? I keep craving jellybellys after i read your posts – weird, right? 😛

  7. Sharon says:

    Delicious eats! And Sweet and Sour Tofu??? AHHH I WANT!!

  8. watcat says:

    Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

  9. biz319 says:

    I haven’t seen the sugar free jelly beans before! I haven’t had jelly beans in like 10 years! 😀

    Sorry about the knife – that was one tough cabbage!

  10. Nate '88 says:

    That is one mean head of cabbage!

    We just posted a recipe for barley and lentil soup with Swiss chard that I think you’d like.

    Thanks for adding us as a friend on Foodbuzz. We welcome you to come visit our site!

  11. […] some of the other forms of vegan protein could be.  Fakin’ bacon rocked my socks, and the soy chorizo dish I made was one of the best things I’ve ever […]

Leave a Reply

