Bleck, Brunch, Bites

Finished!  Whenever I have a good day it’s also a full day, and my blog posts end up being not so full.  It’s late, but I knew it’d be late so I’ll do my best to give a recap of my lovely day.

I had a serious case of the all or nothings this morning.  I overslept, which wouldn’t be a big deal except that I’ve spent the last two days not working and am a little disappointed in myself.  That’s the rub with this job, you can always be doing more.  Anyway, I let my dissappointment cause me to laze around which caused me to run out of time for a run and then I was really disappointed.  Sometimes I spend so much time whining about what I have to do that I could actually do some of it in the time it takes to complain.

Frustration and hurry aside, I did manage to grab a quick but tasty pre-brunch breakfast.  My mommy gave me a gift-certificate to Stonewall Kitchen for Christmas and I finally used it the other day, leading to this package in the mail.

hpim21413

I am excited about all the products, you’ll see them all soon, but none more than these two.

hpim2170

So today I made myself a slice of toast and topped it with Maple Pumpkin Butter.

hpim2171

Yum!  I am superexcited to try this in oats.

At noon I headed into the city for the Blogger Meet-Up Brunch!  We met at Counter.  Let me say now, I am not even going to discuss this restaurant experience.  I am sure other bloggers will do that for me.  I will Not be going back.  Service aside, re/meeting all of the bloggers was wonderful!  All of the ladies, and Mark! were so friendly and fun.  I even got more swag.

hpim2172

For my meal I got poached eggs with hashbrowns, ww toast, and a side salad.

hpim2173

I devored the eggs (which were hard-boiled, not poached like I ordered) and the hash’ but left the overdressed salad on the plate.  I also finished the toast, that little blob of pink stuff was strawberry butter, and it was the highlight of the meal!

After brunch a group of us headed to the F train and on the way I stopped at Sugar for gelato.  I know that it is still winter, but I had gelato there over the summer and it was just too good.

hpim2174

I had panna cotta and cookies and cream and they did not disappoint – I practically licked the bowl clean!

hpim2176

When we got back in the Slope Sarah, Vani, and I actually hit up Hanco’s.  Vani had never tried bubble tea before but hopefully we made her a convert.  Since I had bubble tea yesterday I celebrated my non-vegan status by ordering an Egg Yolk Soda.

hpim2178

I still have no idea what the hell this is.  The menu warns that the yolk is raw but says nothing else, and Google turned up nothing.  Sarah thought it tasted like an egg-cream (there was a tangy seltzer taste to it) and A said it tasted like egg nog.  You could definiatly taste the yolk in it, and it was sweet.  I drank half and then brought the rest home to A.

Truth time – when I got home I ate the cookies Sarah gave me so fast I didn’t even take a picture 🙂

When I got home I managed to get together most of my materials and plans in time to make to the walk to Staples before 7pm closing.  In spite of our worry about work stuff, A and I decided to celebrate the end of a great weekend by going out to dinner!  The last three days of hanging out with A have been really wonderful, I love spending time with him so much!

We went to Stone Park Cafe for dinner.  We had been once for brunch and loved it and this experience was even better.  I split a Pennichuck Backdraft Chocolate Porter with A and it was delicious.

hpim2181

Kind of like Guiness but without the aftertaste.

Look at how cute the bread-basket is!

hpim2182

I ate one piece, with butter.

hpim2183

For dinner I ordered off of the Market Menu.

hpim21801

My first course was the salad.

hpim2184

There were tomatos, green beans, and butter beans in a lemony dressing.  I loved the inclusion of butter beans, I’ve never seen them in a restaurant before.  I ate a 1/3 of this and gave the rest to A.

For dinner I ordered the salmon.

hpim2185

So good!  The pasta was homemade and had the best bite.  I did not like the fennel, but salmon is one of my favorite restaurant orders, it’s strange how little I’ve had it since I started the blog.

For dessert I chose the Panna Cotta in a citrus compote.

hpim2186

Holy yum!  A and I could not get over how good this was!  This was actually the first time I’ve had panna cotta (gelato doesn’t really count), but I’ve been obsessed with it ever since I first heard it described.  The compote was amazing too, it tasted just like a strawberry lemonade slushie!

On the walk home from dinner I stopped in at Starbucks to do my grading.  I have to check my grades with my principal on Thursday (we now have to have approval to fail anyone, and unfortunatly I’m failing a lot of people) so I want to be sure things are in order.  My students have until Wednesday to do make-up work so I know this week will be crazy.  I drank a nonfat iced latte while I worked.

hpim2187

A met me for the walk home – I don’t know why the heck he was so nice to me this weekend! – and I got back to work on planning.  I am officially planned and set up for the week but I am waiting to do my posters tomorrow.  As soon as I hit publish it is time for bed!

What is your favorite thing you did this weekend? My favorite part of the weekend was all the time I got to spend walking around with A!

What was the best food you consumed this weekend?  Panna Cotta, 100%

Coming Tomorrow – Post Vegan Reflections

14 Responses to Bleck, Brunch, Bites

  1. Great meeting you today! Maybe next time we’ll actually be close enough to chat! 😛

  2. Sarah says:

    so fun to hang out again yesterday — and i’m so glad to see that you got yourself some REAL panna cotta!

    good luck with the return to school tomorrow! and yess, we’re going to have to make a date to check those fitness classes.

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    I LOVE the Stonewall Kitchen spreads!!

    Mmm, gelato.

    Fabulous meet-up fun!!

  4. Mel says:

    Those spread look and sound so good! I can’t wait to see all the kinds that you tried!

    The best thing I ate all weekend was definitely the greek yogurt I had yesterday!

  5. Vani says:

    The best thing I had was definitely Sarah’s cookies!!! Although I did enjoy the bubble tea 🙂

  6. Melissa says:

    That restaurant looks awesome! and the spreads…wow!

  7. Hangry Pants says:

    It was so nice to meet you and chat about teaching! At least you got good gelato!

    • Emily says:

      Hangry Pants – it was Great gelato! I’m usually not so bitter by the way (last week was hard), I do love my job, don’t let me scare you from teaching!

  8. Sharon says:

    Oh wow, what a great weekend! Totally love the tasty eats!

  9. I am hearing resounding BOO’s for Counter, that’s for sure! Sorry it was lame but it looks like you had another fun blogger meetup! Hope there will be more. 🙂

  10. marafaye says:

    What a fun weekend!!! I’m all for ice cream/gelato no matter the season, and bubble tea? YES PLEASE!

  11. Emily says:

    My Dad’s homemade veggie lasagna was definitely the best meal I had this week! Yummers. 🙂

    Hope you have a good day back to the grind!

  12. Emily says:

    Looks like you had a great time at the blogger meet-up. Your gelato looks so good! I haven’t found a great place in Columbus to get gelato, but I really love it!

  13. VugsRuggime says:

    Great site this eatingchalk.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

Leave a Reply

