What’s your AIM?

Especially for a Monday, it’s been a good day!  Per usual, I have to do a quick post before bed.

This morning for train breakfast I did a Cool Mint Chocolate Clif Bar.

hpim2252

I love this flavor!  I had moved away from Clif bars for a while but they really are one of my favorites.

For lunch I packed a butter popcorn pudding, a red Bartlet pear, and a yogurt.

hpim22471

I actually ate the yogurt during my 9:30 prep because I found at I was meeting with the literacy coach at lunch and wouldn’t have as much time to eat.  It was a seasonal flavor from Stoneyfield, apple pie.

hpim22481

When I ate the pudding at lunch I crumbled a True Delights bar into it and it was divine.

hpim2249

(Especially for a Monday) my school day was pretty good.  I got through an entire lesson/activity about making predictions with all of my classes.  Plus I (decided over the weekend and) announced today that I created an AOL Instant Messenger name for my students to ask me homework questions on.  They were all pretty excited about it.

I stayed after school to call some parents and then came home to 1C Kashi Go Lean with skim milk.

hpim22531

Halfway through my bowl of cereal I realized that I was home early enough to make it to a 5:45 class at the gym.  I ran the .6miles to Crunch and took a 30minutes Abs and Stretch class.  A and I ran some errands on the way home and then I made the posters for the week that I neglected yesterday.  While I worked I ate some baby carrots with 2servings of hummus.

hpim2255

Then it was time for dinner.

hpim2254

We made a Rachael Ray recipe from my magazine binder.  I’ll post the original recipe, and my substitutions, both are good!

Spinach Ricotta Pie

  • 10 oz package frozen spinach, thawed and sqeezed out
  • 15oz container ricotta cheese
  • 8oz garlic-herb spreadable cheese
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1C chopped marinated artichokes

Grease a 9in pie pan with evoo.  Preheat the oven to 375*.  In a large bowl, whisk together both cheeses and the eggs.  Add the spinach, artichokes, 1/2t salt and 1/4t pepper and stir to combine.  Pour into prepared pan and bake until golden, about 45minutes.

My Substitutions

  • I used 10oz of collard greens instead of spinach
  • I used fat free ricotta cheese
  • I used 7oz of Farmers Cheese instead of the garlic-herb spreadable
  • I used an extra 1/2C of artichokes
  • I had an 8inch pan so I made 1pie and 5 “muffins”

hpim2256

Very tasty!  For my substitutions 5 (huge) servings have 225calories each.  I ate about 1/4 of the pie tonight.

hpim2258

We watched “House” while we ate, so I was pretty much in heaven.  I also broke out these mini fruit slices for dessert.

hpim2259

Nothing sour about them, but still pretty tasty.  I ate two servings.

hpim2260

All in all, a pretty good day!  P.S. It’s also possible I demolished 3T of chunky pb straight from the jar before my shower.

Do you have an aim?  I remember this being so popular in high school/college, but none of my friends use it any more.

Do you make substitutions to recipes or do you follow to the letter?

CONTEST CONTEST –  Melissa is giving away bbq sauce.  Sarah is giving away Bob’s Red Mill goodies.  Strawberry Shorstuff is giving away some bars and cute t.

8 Responses to What’s your AIM?

  1. verbalriot says:

    Glad to hear you had a good day!

    I do have AIM but rarely use it. I have a few friends who are on it constantly so that’s a way to keep in touch with them.

    I make substitutions all the time in recipes or my (blog) name wouldn’t be healthing it 🙂

  2. Sharon says:

    AWWWhhh fruit slices!
    And no, I don’t use AIM. I use MSN. =D
    And love your eats, super delicious!!!!!

  3. sue says:

    great eats- the ricotta pie sounds so good- i’ll have to try that one!

    i still have aim. i sign on like once a week and have the same conversations with the same three people. it’s so weird to think i would chat on it all day long in college and high school.

  4. VeggieGirl says:

    Great dinner!!

    I got rid of AIM after high school, haha.

  5. Emily says:

    I’m going back to Clif bars, too…after a break! I really like the banana and carrot cake flavors!

    I used AIM in high school and college but not so much anymore. I use Google chat occasionally and also Skype!

  6. Danielle says:

    I have AIM but use it once every couple months at the most. I remember rushing home from high school to get on-line and talk to everyone I had just seen at school. So silly!
    Love those little fruit candies they look so good!

  7. Hangry Pants says:

    Um I very rarely follow a recipe exactly unless it’s for bread.

    I had aim in college. Cool away messages and profiles with song quotes were all the rage.

    I love everything about both versions of that spinach ricotta dish!!!!!!!!

  8. carolinebee says:

    haha O man my mom used to have to change my password b/c i was such a freak and would be on it WAY too much!! Talking to boys 😀 My name was like sugarchic998 or something super awesome…WOW, good thing i’m not on the computer a lot now or anything..:D

Leave a Reply

