Cough!

Not the most productive day, but it sure was fun (and I’m sick damn it!).  After my long post this morning I actually crawled back into bed for a bit to let my headache subside.  I never actually ate breakfast, just 1T unphotographed pb.

Late afternoon A convinced me that the weather was too gorgeous to be inside, so we took the 1.24mile walk to Buffalo Wild Wings at Atlantic Center.  We enjoyed the weather, our conversation, and stopping inside a few pet stores to pet the kitties!  I also stopped into a health food store and bought some fresh veggie juice.

hpim2299

All I can say is that I hope Green Monsters don’t taste like this!  I’m sure they don’t (and I myself am a huge fan of wheatgrass) because this was awful!  It was super bitter, “Everything that is wrong with veggies,” A said.  I forced down 3/4 of it in the interest of health but was more than glad to trade it in for a diet coke at the restaurant.

hpim2300

I knew beforehand I had to get fries (thanks a lot, Kelsey!) so I choose a healthy main dish.

hpim2301

Naked tenders with potato wedges.  I traded in my sauce for buffalo and blue cheese, the best combo on Earth.

hpim2303

So good!  This meal was exactly what I was craving, and the spicy sauce finally helped to clear my nose!  I basically licked my plate clean, along with a handful of A’s fries too!

hpim2302

We enjoyed the walk home too, stopping to check out some of the budding beauties.

hpim2305

I was in the house long enough to take some Asprin before A convinced me it was time for a movie; we just really weren’t in the mood to work today, spring break is way too close!  My “Fast and Furious” snacks were very orange.

hpim2306

2 clementines and the last of the baby carrots.  I also packed a bag of sour fruit gummies.

hpim2307

My snacks were great, but I enjoyed the jumbo h20 I bought the most!  In the spirit of procrastination we decided to extend our walk home (it is 10blocks each way to the theatre) and made a quick loop.

When we got home I did finally get some school work done, but I am leaving much more for tomorrow than usual.  I made a tasty tasty snack while I worked.

hpim2314

Nonfat plain Fage with Stonewall Kitchen Maple Pumpkin Butter.  I can see why people like this combo!

Hopefully it’s an early morning (to finish up my work!) so I’m going to get to bed.

Were you all work, all play, or a healthy balance this weekend?

What do you do when you notice you’ve gained a few pounds?

Sidenote – In case anyone is curious, my metabolism isn’t just beyond amazing, I am effected by the overabundance of snacks and the underabundance of movement over the past few weeks.  In the end I’ve put on about 2-3lbs (more than it sounds on my small frame).  I know better than to plan on eating healthy the week of a vacation (there are Tons of restaurants we are excited to get back to and we’ll probably drink every day) but I am going to try to make mini bits strength training my goal for the week.  I’m sad that I’m too sick to gym it before I leave but I can’t really go to the gym more than 3 times while I’m home so it’s just as well.  After boozing it up for a week healthy eats will be majorly appealing when I head back to the city and I’ll have a long weekend to get back into the gym groove before I head back to work.

7 Responses to Cough!

  1. looks like you had a fun weekend! i was definitely all play this weekend…per usual. by that i mean i ran once and ate some healthy things, but definitely didn’t restrain from any unhealthy cravings! i usually feel a little bloated on mondays and then i start being super healthy again. 2-3 lbs is annoying but it should come right off when you get back in your normal routine 🙂

  2. Alison says:

    Sounds like a good weekend. Weekends are always the hardest for me to eat healthfully – I always feel entitled to a treat…or two…or three. But healthy eating during the week usually gets rid of any weekend excess. I’m sorry you can’t go to the gym…it’s no fun being sick. Try drinking tons of water (although you’re probably already doing that). It’ll make you feel better and less hungry.

  3. VeggieGirl says:

    Great weekend!! Just hope you can feel 100% better soon!!

  4. verbalriot says:

    I know that restaurant on Atlantic, I go there after shopping trips to Target and Daffy’s 🙂

    I was wayyy too much play this weekend (see: drinking + carby brunch + no homework) but no regrets!

    I’ll be making up for it…today…

  5. Sharon says:

    What an awesome and tasty weekend you had!

  6. Emily says:

    Hope you feel better soon!

    I’m going to have to try pumpkin butter in yogurt!

  7. Kelsey says:

    I hope you loved the fries as much as I did the other day!!

Leave a Reply

