Oh Baby!

Hello, hello.  I’ve been absent for a while, but it’s been a learning experience.  Life lessons?  1. I am not just tired, apparently I am pretty sick – yuck.  2. I pack in a lot of food for a sick person.  And in better news, SCCD was featured on Yourself in Five Years‘ amazing Perez Hilton style line-up!

After I left you Saturday night we had to throw together a quick dinner before we headed up to Soho.  I used the following things in my 15minute meal (take that Ray!)

hpim2276

4servings of ww pasta, a can of turnip greens, and Stonewall Kitchen Pumpkin Pesto.  Came together to make this.

hpim2278

I topped my serving with 1T toasted pine nuts and 1T sharp cheddar.  Very tasty.

hpim2279

Apparently 15minutes was too long though, so I snacked on a Key Lime Light and Fit yogurt while I cooked.

hpim2277

Then we headed up to my favorite area in Soho!  A is the sweetest husband in the world and he gave me a foodie-filled evening that rocked my socks.  Our first stop?

hpim22802

Babycakes!  A all vegan bakery I’ve been dying to try.  Look at how cute it is!

hpim2281

I got a chocolate chip sandwich cookie.

hpim22821

I swear I’m not just sayingthis because the icing is pink – this was hands down the best cookie I’ve ever had!  We will definitely be headed back to Babycakes, soon!

From there A and I went to Teany (another supercool spot)

hpim2283

and split a blood orange herbal iced tea.

hpim2284

And then A let me peruse the Whole Foods nearby.  Ohmygoodness, I need  to live near a Whole Foods.  I had to restrain myself because we are leaving for St. Thomas this Thursday, but I was literally gasping as I walked down the asiles.  I did buy a few fun things I’ll show you throughout this week.  On of which was –

hpim2285

a Truffle Pig milk chocolate truffle bar.  How cute is this?!

hpim2286

A often calls me truffle pig as a nickname which made us even more excited.  Even the bar itself is adorable.

hpim2287

We split it on the way home.

Somehow when we got home A convinced me it was time for a second dinner.  I don’t know what to say about this except that we were both still hungry.  We went to Mango, my favorite Thai place in the Slope.

hpim2288

I got a thai iced coffee to drink.

hpim2289

And ordered chicken pad thai.

hpim2290

So good!  Pad Thai was my standard order before I discovered broad rice noodles.  A and I both ate about 1/3 of our meals and then had them packed up to go.  To our annoyance, when we got home we realized they gave us little to go containers, and had thrown away about 1/3 of our meals!  Probably a good thing, considering that I ate the rest of mine as soon as I got home!

I was feeling substantially sicker by the time Saturday morning rolled around, but A convinced me to try his new Whole Foods buy.

hpim2291

Oh yes, that is pancakes in a squirt can!  I am not a huge pancake fan but I had to try some of these.

 

hpim2292

A made me three small pancakes which I topped with a small banana and a drizzle of maple syrup.

hpim2293

And then I went back to bed all day.  I slept and slept and slept and after my Rip Van Winkle-ing I felt well enough around 4:30 for A to drag me to a movie.  We were going to see Fast and Furious, but even though they sold us tickets there were literally not two seats left in the theatre!  We thought about seeing a later show but A had already ordered our movie snacks so we traded in our tickets for Monsters Vs. Aliens instead.  I ate (unphotographed) 1/2 a medium popcorn, a diet coke, and some Jr. Mints during the movie. [My throat is killing me, but yes, I do know that my food choices probably had something to do with why my stomach hurt!]

I crawled home from the movie to do some more sleeping, zzzzzzz.  A woke me up later when he ordered sushi, he got me an order of pineapple fried rice and it was delicious.

hpim2294

I devoured it, along with the side of (raw) pineapple that it came with.

hpim2295

And then went back to sleep.

This morning I am feeling pretty sick still but I have to go to school tomorrow so there is work to be done.  I will be back later, hope everyone else is feeling well!

Do you lose your appetite when you are sick?

(nonvegan readers) would you go to a vegan bakery?

10 Responses to Oh Baby!

  1. Sharon says:

    Um, depending on what I am sick with, determines my appetite. And oh yes, totally would try a vegan bakery! =D

  2. verbalriot says:

    Hahaha that pig bar is SO CUTE!

    yeah, I totally lose my appetite when sick. I eat lots of soup too. Canned soup. Ewish.

    I’m not vegan but I’d totally go to BabyCakes! In fact…I think I might soon =)

  3. Sarah says:

    ahh, i thought you were going to say you were pregnant, between that title and the sickness!

    i do not ever lose my appetite … and esp not when i’m sick! in fact, i spent almost my entire time in peru last summer sick, but i loved it because it meant there was that much more space in my tum to try every new food i could find, hahaha.

    and i LOVE the babycakes ice cream sandwiches! when i went, i got a lemon ginger one — gingerbread cookies with lemon frosting filling, mmmm.

    and that truffle pig is perfect! and wasn’t it hard to go to teany and not order one of those gorgeous vegan desserts? a gave you a brilliant, brilliant night 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    p.s. feel better soon!

  5. VeggieGirl says:

    Pumpkin pesto + Chocolate chip cookie sandwich = HOLY YUM.

    Ahh get well soon!!

    I rarely EVER have an appetite, so I definitely lose it 100% when I’m sick 😦

  6. marafaye says:

    Feel better soon!!!

  7. Melissa says:

    what a great day. I need to get me some babycakes. oh, and good luck on the giveaway!

  8. Hangry Pants says:

    I would definitely go to a vegan bakery!

  9. Greta says:

    I’d for sure go to a vegan bakery – especially if the goods looked like that! And that pesto pasta dish made my (stuffed) belly grumble – I’m going to have to add that to my “to make” list..

    PS: everything you eat looks AMAZING Any girl who pulls off second dinners is a rockstar in my book 🙂

  10. conniedelavergne says:

    Do you lose your appetite when you are sick?

    Not usually, but I sure felt sick after looking at all the food you ate;-)

Leave a Reply

