Blogger Meet-ups and Morning Bowls (and free stuff)

Sorry I didn’t post last night, I ended up getting home late and I’m trying to really honor bedtime so I’m ready to go back to school.  Yesterday evening I went up to Manhattan to attend the Always Infinity Blogger Meet-Up.  It was sponsored by Always (to promote their new product line, Infinity) and Doctor Rebbecca Booth (to promote her new book, The Venus Week).

The event involved cocktails, hors d’ouevres , and complimentary spa treatments.  Plus we heard from Dr. Booth and members of the Always team, and even got a swag bag!

hpim2508

hpim2507

hpim2509

The food was pretty good, Plate 1,

hpim2505

Plate 2.

hpim2506

Plus I had a glass of champagne.  And a mini chair massage that knocked my socks off!  I got to see Dori and Missy again, which was fun, and my coworker had a great time.  She got a fabulous looking French manicure.

Dr. Booth’s talk basically came down to discussing the ways women can look and feel their best.  You can get more info here, so I’ll just list some of the take-away points.

  • avoid “white” food
  • eat plenty of fruits and vegetables
  • eat plenty of nuts
  • if you are going to eat chocolate, make it dark chocolate
  • supplements are our friends
  • exercise, exercise, exercise

The swag bag was loaded with products that tied in with Dr. Booth’s suggestions.

hpim2510

I am going to start taking the fish oil supplements with dinner (and you know I’ll eat that candy!), but there is now a giveway at the bottom of this post!

After the event A met up with me (he took the train into the city with me and walked around) and we walked around Columbus Circle for a bit.  Then we hurried home to make it to a 10:10 showing of “Observe and Report.”  I was pretty excited to crack into my Easter candy,

hpim2511

my mommy got me Soda Pop Jelly Bellys, holy yum!  I packed 1serving of beans along with a Strawberry Rice Krispies treat.

hpim2512

And A and I split a large diet coke at the movie.  The movie, by the way, was awful.  I am really a huge Seth Rogan fan, and the individual actors technically acted well, but the movie was choppy and not very funny.  Plus the flasher scenes gave A nightmares!  I usually reward a movie for gratuitous nudity but this was just not cool!

I didn’t actually eat very much yesterday, so this morning’s breakfast was healthy and scrumptious – Carmel Apple Oats!

hpim2513

This was 1/3C oats cooked with a small banana.  I topped the oats with a splash of skim milk, a crumbled caramel apple bar and a heaping spoonful of Stonewall Kitchen Caramel Apple Butter.

hpim2514

Yum, yum, yum!

I have another busy day, so I’m going to tell you about the contest and be on my way.

EatingChalk’s first contest!

As you guys know, I got some exciting swag from the Always Infinity event.  I had a great time and I appreciated the way the freebies tied into Dr. Booth’s advice, but the books are just not for me.  [My friends and I don’t ever plan on sitting and discussing our cycles and though the cookbook has some yummy looking recipes many involve fake sugar which I just won’t do – diet coke doesn’t count :)]

So the contest, which runs until 8pm Wednesday, is for two books – The Venus Week and The No Sugar Cookbook.  To enter

  1. leave a comment on this post telling me why you use (or why you don’t use) fake sugars – Splenda, Equal, etc.
  2. link back to this contest from your blog OR cc me in an e-mail in which you tell three friends about EatingChalk

Good luck!

20 Responses to Blogger Meet-ups and Morning Bowls (and free stuff)

  1. Vani says:

    Sounds like a fun event! I don’t use fake sugar because it’s not satisfying to me. It tastes funky. If it actually tasted good to me I’d probably convince myself that the chemicals weren’t THAT bad and eat it all the time 🙂

  2. eatinnyc says:

    Aw you had such an amazing vacay! So jealous! Welcome back! Uhm I use splenda because I have a theory that life is too short. I decided 2 years before I want to get pregnant (psycho ahead planner here) I will cut out artifical cr*p. Right now…? oh well 🙂 I’ll link you, lady 🙂
    xoxo
    s
    http://eatfabinnyc.wordpress.com

  3. Michelle says:

    I do use Splenda in coffee originally because I wanted to avoid the calories in regular sugar. But not I have heard so much bad stuff about the product and ones like it…i feel a little ashamed to use it but it’s gonna be a hard habit to kick

  4. Great seeing you last night! That was some delicious sushi!

  5. Sharon says:

    Um, I don’t really use sugar, unless I am baking. And when I do, I just whatever the kitchen has at hand, which is typically just regular sugar. I found that products with added sugars, i.e yogurt sweetened with splenda, I don’t feel so well after eating them. Nowadays, I buy just plain yogurt rather than vanilla yogurt. =D

  6. Zoe says:

    I do use spenda, really just to save on calories. Although I prefer honey and maple syrup, but for some things those just dont work:)

  7. Jacquelyn says:

    I actually love the splenda coffe individuals mixers. There like individual flavored splenda packets and my favorite is hazelnut. I use them I think mostly just bc I am in college and there easy to take on the go or have in the dorm 🙂

  8. Sarah says:

    i like sugar in the raw, honey, molasses, maple syrup. but i think bananas and dates are my favorite sweeteners 🙂 artificial sweeteners always have a yucky aftertaste, and the chemicals scare me!

    i’ll link back asap!

  9. sarahsnacks says:

    caramel apple butter? *faints*

    that sounds so yumm!

    I sometimes use a splenda or two in my coffee. I will also use it making baked goodies for my dad, who is diabetic.

    Linking back to your blog right now!

  10. […] I’m off to go to sleep, finally, but I should be back tomorrow with the full wedding recap. In the meantime, go visit Emily at Super Caloric Chalk Dust for a shot at winning her first ever giveaway! […]

  11. Katrina says:

    I don’t use the “fake” sugars. Don’t care for the after taste, but also don’t like hearing that it has unknown side affects and such. I’ve started using a lot of agave nectar, but I also bake and use cane juice sugar and the real stuff. Great blog!

  12. Maddy says:

    I use splenda because I don’t taste a difference and like to eat my calories 😉

  13. Hangry Pants says:

    Love the swag.

    I do not use splenda because I was unable to use it in modration. I used several packets a day and wanted to move toward a more natural and less sweet life. I transitioned by using Sun Crystals and now I am pretty much sweetener free. 😀

  14. […] so I’m just posting to remind you that my first contest ends tonight at 8pm!  Comment on this post for a chance to […]

  15. […] forget to enter my first giveaway before 8pm […]

  16. FoodsThatFit says:

    I cannot say I have eliminated fake sugars 100%, but I am trying to make improvments in that area every day and have definitely cut back!

  17. Alison says:

    I try not to use fake sugars…I’d rather eat natural foods even though it has more calories. Similar to how I added butter back into my diet. I prefer it to margarine or veg. oil.

  18. […] this dark chocolate flower from Godiva (from the Always Infinity event), […]

Leave a Reply

