A Little Down, but Way Up

Howdy, Hola, Hello!  What a day it has been!  Before I describe the extreme awesomeness of today (get ready!), I’m going to discuss the not-so-awesomeness of yesterday.

I did nothingyesterday.  Zip, nada, zilch.  By 8 A managed to drag me out for a walk and an impromptu dinner but daylight hours were a wash.  From 9am-7pm I did no work, and worse had no fun.  For some reason I woke up with a headache and a bad mood that I couldn’t shake.  It was a beautiful day and A was dying to go outside all day and I just couldn’t make myself move.  I don’t mind procrastinating or not doing work (if you are a regular reader this is obvious!), but procrastinating and not having fun?  Not cool.  I didn’t even watch tv, and I would have loved to watch to tv.  I thought I was doing ok with school, and I am, and I’m doing ten bazillion times better than last year, but days like yesterday really make me think about how these two years of teaching have affected who I am.  I don’t know what I will end up doing next year (I don’t even know what state I’ll be living in until A hears back from grad programs), but I do know that I can’t go back to my school.  Does anyone else ever experience days like this?

On a happier, healthier note, today was fantabulous.  We had gorgeous spring weather and A and I took advantage by taking the mother of all walks through our ‘hood.  I love love love walks and we actually went so long today my feet started to hurt!  I’ll go back to the beginning and walk you through, hehe.

When we woke up we decided that there was no sense in even trying to work with the first day of 70+ weather outside our window.  We started by walking to the farmers’ market to look around.  We planned on eating breakfast at the market so we bought a goat cheese, basil, cranberry loaf thing.

hpim2519

We split most of this but did throw away most of the toppingless edges.  So good.

From the farmers’ market we walked 20+ blocks to the movie theatre.  We thoroughly enjoyed the spring flowers along the way.

hpim2516

 

hpim2518

hpim25172

After buying our tickets we actually did some more walking before the movie started.  Park Slopers have you explored the area around the park (13th-19thish)?  Very neat.  We saw “17 Again” and thought it was pretty great.  A is much more into chick flicks than I am and he loved it!  I mostly loved the serving of Soda Pop Jelly Bellys I packed.

hpim25151

From the movie we decided to go down the 7th Ave and then go home.  But then!  We are nerds, so when we spotted these chalked lines on the sidewalk we had to follow them.

hpim2520

After a long long long treck we came to this:

hpim2521

Lame.  Since our fruitless treasure hunt lead us to 5th Ave we decided to walk around there.  There are some wonderful looking places we hadn’t seen before, particularly a beer emporium we will be visiting soon!  After more walking A and I convinced ourselves it was necessary to go back to the Mexican place we went to dinner at yesterday for a late lunch.  Worth it!

hpim25243

Burrito Bar and Kitchen is un-frickin-believable!  So so so good, I almost can’t describe it.  1) Their drink menu features Cruzan rum.

hpim2522

2) They give you free chips with amazing salsa.

hpim25232

I didn’t eat many chips today, because my oh so healthy lunch choice was Chicken Nachos.

hpim2525

YUM!  I demolished this.  The flavors were amazing, but that didn’t stop me from adding plenty of chalulu.

hpim2526

Hands on our bellies, A and I were very happy when we got home. 

I would like to say that I was full, but I totally made a sundae an hour later!

hpim2527

This was a 1/2C So Delicious chocolate (coconut milk) ice-cream topped with 2t melted pb and 1t unsweetened shredded coconut.

I got in my missing tv time from yesterday while I ate my sundae, House rocks my socks.

Dinner tonight came in the mail yesterday, Buitoni Wild Mushroom Agnolotti ravioli.

hpim2528

Thanks Foodbuzz!

First we had salads.

hpim2530

This was a romaine base topped with lemon poppysead dressing, blue cheese crumbles, and dried raspberries.  The berries are from Nuts Online that my parents gave me in my Easter basket.

 hpim25294

For the pasta we completely ignored the directions to boil and sauteed them in 1T Smart Balance instead.

hpim25331

So good!  I ended up basically eating my serving with my fingers (and enjoying them greatly).

hpim2532

For antioxidants we broke our a bottle of our favorite wine.

hpim2531

A poured me a small glass to enjoy with our dinner.

hpim2534

And now we are cuddling and watching our Netflix (Hot Shots Part Deux).  I (per usual) squandered all of my work time so I have a busy busy day tomorrow before we head back to school.  I wouldn’t have done things any differently!

When do you ignore directions?

11 Responses to A Little Down, but Way Up

  1. FoodsThatFit says:

    The loaf looks delicious! Oh how I love carbs!!

  2. jenngirl says:

    Sorry you had a not so fun Friday. I definitely have days like that, but I guess we get through ’em, and today looked totally fun!

    I would never have thought to pan saute that pasta, sounds delicious though! I usually follow directions at first, and then find out that by tweeking, my own methods satisfy me more. (this goes for food as well as most things in general) 🙂

  3. Sharon says:

    Oh my gosh, everything looks so colorful! I think you had a tasty day!

  4. Alison says:

    That loaf looks fabulous! I’ve always heard that you should make a recipe as directed the first time and then you can vary. I think that’s generally a good rule, but it also depends on how well you know the type of dish and your own tastes.

  5. […] the original here: A Little Down, but Way Up « Super Caloric Chalk Dust Tags: bad-mood, beautiful-day, coconut-milk, delicious, house, make-myself, missing, not-doing, […]

  6. VeggieGirl says:

    Soooo glad that the day was fabulous for ya!!

    **I ignore directions for recipes, which is how I’m able to create my own 🙂

  7. Becca A says:

    I want that loaf thing…

  8. sarahsnacks says:

    I feel ya on the knowing that you can’t go back, my dear! I knew as soon as the school year started that I wouldn’t be coming back to teaching next year. On one hand it’s a relief to know, but on the other hand it’s made this year very long, frustrating, and difficult! Hang in there, the year’s almost over!!!

  9. marafaye says:

    Oh man, I have been where you are re: teaching. I lost my first teaching job a mere 2 weeks before I was to get tenure… and not only had they cut my job, they cut the program I was teaching. The last 2 months of the school year were miserable. I thought about not going back and doing something else, but got a job that I was much better suited for.
    Glad you had a great Saturday though 🙂

  10. Wow, I was in PP yesterday and this kid in my park clean up group was eating that exact same foccocia thing. Even though I was drooling at it, he didn’t offer me a taste!

  11. Sarah says:

    i love the park slope day! that area up above (well technically below, i guess) the park is so under appreciated. there’s a restaurant there called fez that i love — awesome backyard!

    and burrito bar. LOVE it there, too!! mmmmmm now i want guac! what an excellent UP to make up for the down day before 🙂

Leave a Reply

