Brown Paper Packages Tied Up with String

…these are few of my favorite things!  None of them have been tied with string, but I have received quite a few exciting packages lately.  Oikos coupons, Dr. Kracker samples (the review is long coming, I want to try all of the flavors first), pasta samples from FoodBuzz, POM samples, and the wheatberries I won in Sarah’s contest.  I can not even tell you how grateful I am to be able to try all of these things!

For accountabilities sake, I should mention that I ate 8 (1.5servings) of A’s mini pb eggs last night.

hpim2536

I started this morning with my Oikos.  Stoneyfield Farms sent me tons of coupons along with information about their products.

hpim2537

hpim2502

Did you know that Oikos is the only organic Greek yogurt on the market in the US?  According to the literature,

Organic refers to they way agricultural products – food and fiber – are grown and processed.  It is an ecological system that at its core relies on healthy rich soil to produce strong plants that resist pests and diseases.  Organic farming prohibits the use of toxic and persistent chemicals in favor of more “earth-friendly” practices that work in harmony with nature.  In the case of livestock, antibiotics are prohibited, opting instead for preventative measures for keeping animals healthy and productive.  Organic production also prohibits the use of genetically modified organisms (GMO’s).

I tried a nonfat plain one this morning with a small banana and some Stonewall Kitchen Carmel Apple Butter.

hpim2538

My thoughts.  I love the fact that Oikos is organic, because that fits into my goal to eat more (all) organic dairy products.  The plain nonfat Oikos cups have 80calories and 15grams of protein.  The flavor was the same as every other nonfat plain Greek yogurt, with the tanginess we have all come to love.  My only complaint was that the consistency was slightly less thick than that of Fage (my favorite Greek).  Overall, the organic products outweighs the slight difference in consistency for me – I will be purchasing Oikos whenever my store has it.  I also have some nonfat flavored ones I am excited to try.

After breakfast I put my nose to the grindstone.  Thank God this is an easy week (the kids have a field trip and I have some pds), I managed to complete all of my school to dos.

hpim2544

In between planning and grading A and I walked to Staples to get my copies done.  We are seriously enjoying this gorgeous weather!

hpim2540

When I got home from my walk I snacked on a Dark Chocolate Cherry Chewy Kashi bar.

hpim2541

And later on I used a teensy sweet potato to make myself some oven baked fries (preheat oven to 450*, wash and slice ‘tater, spray a foiled baking sheet with cooking spray, sprinkle slices with salt, cook 20minutes).

hpim2542

Served with ketchup.  Yumtastic!  I always love to roast veggies but sweet potatoes in “fry” form are to die for!  If you don’t make them, start!

hpim2543

I managed to finish all of my school work by 4:30, in time to make it to a 5o’clock yoga class!  I took Virgin Yoga at Crunch, a 60minute beginners class.  I am 100% to get back into the gym swing!

When we got home from the gym, A and I split a pear and I ate a few Cheddar Pumpkin Seed Doctor Krackers.

hpim25452

I did some organizing, lunch packing, showering, etc before it was time to make dinner.  I wanted to make sure I wouldn’t have to cook my first few days back at school so I made something with lots of leftovers, stir fried rice.

 hpim25522

I didn’t follow a recipe, just kind of thought about a few recipes I had in my head.  The proportions really don’t matter at all.  Basically here are the “directions”

Very Veggie Stir Fried Rice, 5 servings

  • 4C cooked brown rice (prepared a day in advance)
  • large onion, chopped
  • carrots, chopped
  • defrosted frozen broccoli rabe
  • red pepper, chopped
  • fresh basil
  • evoo
  • 3eggs
  • fish sauce
  • 2limes, quartered
  • egg tomatoes, chopped
  • bunch of scallions, chopped
  • **A cooks chicken and adds it to his at the end
  1. (A day before you plan on making the dish) prepare 4C cooked brown rice.
  2. In a wok or large skillet, heat a little evoo.  Cook the first set of veggies until soft.  I wait to add the basil until the last few minutes of cooking.
  3. Remove veggies from the pan, replace with rice.  Heat the rice for a minute or so, stirring to distribute heat evenly.  Add a little bit more evoo at this point.
  4. Mound the rice so that there is a hole in the middle.  Crack the eggs into the hole.  When the eggs are mostly firm, scramble and stir them into the rice.  The timing of when you stir in the eggs will determine how dry your final dish is, so follow your own tastes.
  5. Add the cooked veggies back into the pan and stir.  Squeeze in the juice of 1lime, along with 4-6 shakes of fish sauce.
  6. Add the second set of veggies, stir once, and remove from the pan.
  7. Additional lime juice can be squeezed on at the table.

hpim2554

Yum!  I love stir fried rice.

hpim2555

I ate my portion along with a juice cocktail; 1part POM and 2parts club soda.

hpim2553

hpim2556

When I received my package from POM the other day I was pretty psyched; A goes through these things like nobody’s business!  A drinks them straight, but I like them best mixed with club soda or incorporated into a recipe.

hpim2503

We don’t drink a lot of juice because I think you are better getting the fiber from a piece of fruit instead, but POM is a “worth it” situation to me.  Here is some of the information the company provided me with that I found interesting –

  •  
    • Pomegranates are one of mankind’s earliest cultured fruits.
    • Many scholars now suggest that it was the pomegranate, not an apple, depicted in the biblical Garden of Eden.
    • POM Juice is the only juice guaranteed to be made exclusively from “Wonderful” variety pomegranates.
    • [Their] pomegranate orchards are looked in California’s sunny San Joaquin Valley.  [They] never use imported juice.
    • POM Wonderful is the only juice whose health benefits are backed by $25million in medical research.
    • [In a study in which participants drank 8oz daily] after only three weeks, blood flow to the heart improved approximately 17% in a a group that drank POM Wonderful 100% pomegranate juice, but worsened approximately 18% in the placebo group.
    • Drinking 8oz of 100% pomegranate juice per day for two weeks lowered the incidence of LDL oxidation, believed to be a key factor in arterial plaque formation.
    • Hundreds of scientific tests also show POM to be a superior source of antioxidants, with more and better antioxidants than red wine, grape juice, blueberry juice, cranberry juice, green tea, vitamin C and vitamin E.

POM juice is also shown to improve prostate health and erectile function, but I don’t think those figures are of much use to most of my readers! (You seem to be young and female, but if any grandpas are reading please give me a shout out!)

Tomorrow is my first day back to school after Spring Break, tear!  On the agenda for tonight?  Relaxation.  I have a new episode of Scrubs to watch online and a serving of Jelly Bellys calling my name, zzzzzzZ.

Don’t forget about my first giveaway ever, ending Weds!

9 Responses to Brown Paper Packages Tied Up with String

  1. VeggieGirl says:

    SWEET POTATO FRIES!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Sharon says:

    Oh wow, super delicious!

  3. marafaye says:

    GREAT looking fries! Mine never look that good! i get lazy and do the circles…

  4. sue says:

    the fried rice looks so good! i’m going to have to make some this week- thanks for sharing your recipe.

  5. Sarah says:

    mail in package form is so fun! and those cheddar pumpkin seed crackers look yumMY.

    hope your return to school today was ok!

  6. Mom says:

    I noticed that your ketchup pile is in a heart. I love you, too!

  7. Danielle says:

    I love your to-do list paper it’s too cute!

  8. The rice looks great! That’s one of my fave ways to use up leftovers/stuffthatwillgobad too. Hope the return from vacay hasn’t been too painful!

  9. Hangry Pants says:

    I hope school wasn’t too bad Monday and Tuesday!

    The rice looks delicious. Where do you find these Dr. Krackers?

Leave a Reply

