Big Foods, Big News

It was another great day of touristing with my aunt and cousin!  We did lots more walking, sightseeing, and eating – all my favorite activities!  I did not get any school work done but it’s ok because I actually decided to play hooky tomorrow 🙂

We started our day by doing a walking tour of Park Slope.  We did more than 3miles in our neighborhood alone!  We saw lots of neat things but my favorite is always the Super Hero Supply Store.

hpim26401

hpim26421

hpim2643

hpim2644

This store provides the funding for 826NYCa program that provides writing programs for children in New York.

We went to a Mexican spot so A and my cousin could use the bathroom and a bought a rice milk drink.

hpim26451

Everyone else did some noshing but I decided not to eat anything because I knew we were headed up into the city for a 2o’clock reservation at –

hpim2646

hpim2648

hpim2649

Serendipity3is one of my favorite nyc restaurants, so good!  It is known for it’s desserts but the food is equally amazing.  I ordered the Summer Bries.

hpim2651

hpim2652

An open faced turkey sandwich on raisin pumpernickel with apple, brie, alfalfa sprouts, and russian dressing.  I demolished it, but left the greens because I wanted to save room for –

hpim2653

 hpim26542

I talked a big game about finishing my dessert but I only managed to eat about 2/3 of it.  Delicious, but it left me pretty stuffed for the rest of the day.

A and I took my family back to the train and then headed back home to do zero work.  I am so glad I decided to stay home tomorrow!  I was feeling really, really conflicted but this will be my 5th day off (out of ten) for the year so I really shouldn’t feel bad.  We usually eat dinner late, but by the time 10rolled around and we were still feeling full we decided to skip it entirely.  A ate something small and I had a medium bowl of popcorn with SmartBalance while we watched the most recent House episode online.

hpim2657

During House I did the einsiest bit of exercise ever with the gift my aunt brought me – Yoga Toes.

hpim2658

Does anyone use these?

I hope everyone had a great weekend and I will see you for a leisurely breakfast tomorrow!

The Big News

My big news is only exciting to me, but to me it’s pretty damn exciting!  I have officially decided that I am not going to teach next year.  I’m taking the year off to begin the prereqs for an rd program.  I am not positive that I won’t go back to teaching, but if that’s the case it will only be a year off and I will feel good that I explored all of the possibilities.  I still don’t know what state I’ll be living in (it depends on where A does his grad program), but at least know I know something!  Wish me luck!

11 Responses to Big Foods, Big News

  1. jenngirl says:

    I’ve always wanted to go to serendipity! What a fun day 🙂

    Congrats on your big news, that is exciting!

  2. verbalriot says:

    oh wow, what an awesome decision! Congrats!

    I love serendipity3. They just opened one in Vegas!

  3. Sharon says:

    Oh wow, the name is awesome too. Serendipity!
    And congratulations!!!!!!

  4. Sarah says:

    emily, congrats congrats congrats!!!!!! SO exciting on making a decision that makes you happy!

    and i looooooooooooove the serendip. we used to go all the time in college and get the forbidden broadway sundae. SWOOOOOOOOOON. but even i usually need two partners to help me finish that one!

    can’t wait for our hanco’s date on wednesday 🙂

  5. Melissa says:

    I have many great memories at Serendipity, but I got kicked out on my 22nd birthday, so I stopped going back!

    Good luck with the change!

    • Emily says:

      Melissa – you got kicked out!?!! That sounds like a scandalous story! The group across from us (15ish year old girls at a birthday party) needed to be kicked out!

      All – thank you so much for the support; I’m so happy 🙂

  6. fitforfree says:

    Congrats on the big decision, and your much-deserved year off from the hardest job out there!

    Looking forward to Wednesday!

  7. Allison says:

    Good luck – nice job on deciding to make a change (I know how scary that can be! I taught for a year in NC – and decided to – change careers – AND move states!) Scary – but great decision!

    Best of luck!

  8. Danielle says:

    What a great meal! That dessert looks so great!
    congrats on making that decision, I’m sure it was tough, good luck!

  9. carolinebee says:

    NO frozen hot chocolate!? haha that is my dream! COngrats on your decision, good luck and it sounds like a good plan 😀

  10. Amelia says:

    Congrats on your decision! That’s so exciting!

Leave a Reply

