For Me?

In spite of the greatness that is a day off from my school, this morning got off to a rocky start.  I’ve been feeling sort of sad over the past week and when I overslept this morning I was feeling pretty down.  Example?  I ate half of this for breakfast:

hpim2659

But then, while I was wallowing, I got called downstairs to get this:

hpim26601

Which was filled with this:

hpim26611

I was feeling pretty lucky so I decided to end my pity party and get to work.  But first, I had to sample the new products!  Ferrero was kind enough to send me samples of each of their candy products, I felt it was my duty to eat one (or two, or actually three) of each flavor so I could review.

hpim2662

Ferrero Rocher is the original flavor.

hpim2663

Rocher chocolates are a tempting combination of creamy chocolate surrounding a whole hazelnut, within a delicate, crisp wafer…all enveloped in milk chocolate and finely chopped hazelnuts.  I am a big hazelnut fan, so I always enjoy these.  This is a flavor I am familiar with, because it is husband’s favorite candy – because of this every member of his family sent him a box for every holiday in college and Rochers basically took over our dorm rooms for several years!

Ferrero Garden is the non-chocolate offering.

hpim2664

It is composed of a sweet almond; rich coconut cream; delicate, crisp wafer; and shredded coconut.  I thought this was pretty unbelievable.  I am a major coconut fan and this is hands down the best use of coconut in a candy bar I’ve ever experienced.

Ferrero Rondnoir is the dark chocolate offering.

hpim2665

Ferrero Rondnoir dark chocolates are a unique offering of a dark chocolate cream surrounding a “black pearl” of fine dark chocolate within a delicate, crisp wafer…topped with crunchy dark chocolate morsels.  I am a dark over milk chocolate fan so I thought this blew the Rocher out of the water!  This is my new favorite candy.  It was the perfect combo of textures and flavors (although I strongly tasted coffee notes and was surprised not to see it listed).

Thank you so much Ferrero, this made my day!

After boosting myself with a sugar high I got down to business – I’ve written my plans for the week and gathered all of my materials.  I had a doctor’s appointment in Manhattan at 5:20 so I worked until about 3.  Then I took a break for a snack.  I used one small sweet potato to make my favorite oven baked “fries.”

hpim2666

Yum.

When I got outside I realized it was much warmer than I had anticipated so I traded in my jacket for this.

hpim2668

My appointment took forever – I had to wait for more than 40minutes!  I didn’t really mind though, because it gave me an excuse to sit and finish my new book.

By the time I left I was pretty hungry.  I stopped into Duane Reade for some things so I bought a snack for the train ride home.

hpim2669

100calorie bags of popchips might actually be the best thing since sliced bread (better, actually, because who really gets excited about sliced bread?).

When I got home A and I got down to business with one of my drugstore buys.

 hpim2671

We have a really hard time remembering to take our vitamins so a daily pill storer (am for me and pm for A) is just what we needed.  I am taking a fish oil pill every day and a vitamin every day (alternating between a b-supplement, Flinestones chewables, and Centrum Complete).  Plan on this being a part of what I consume daily, at least for the next few weeks.

While I was uptown A cooked a Target box for dinner.

hpim2670

hpim2673

It tasted pretty good, but wasn’t very filling.  Plus, the sodium content is pretty intense, we probably won’t buy this again.  I washed my serving down with a virgin cocktail.

 hpim26721

This was 1part POM, 1part Stirrings mojito mix, and 1part club soda.  All together.

hpim26741

After dinner A and I watched the best episode of House ever and I ate one serving of ColdStone Creations Jelly Bellys.

hpim2675

It was a great evening!  I am back to school as scheduled tomorrow so I’ve got to get to bed, sleep tight!

Did you watch House today?  What did you think?

Do you take any vitamens or supplements?

8 Responses to For Me?

  1. jenngirl says:

    Looks like someone was looking after you today, chocolates are definitely a mood booster!! And great reviews, those sound amazing, and since I’m not much of a hazelnut fan, that dark chocolate sounds right up my alley!

    HOUSE ROCKED TONIGHT!! I love that Amber is back!

  2. Sharon says:

    I didn’t know that dark chocolate was offered! Ah, I want!

  3. sue says:

    omg, i need to find that coconut rocher right now. amazing!

  4. Mom says:

    OK, Cutie, I definitely noticed the “E.” If you love me, you’ll make a “M” next time!

  5. Allison says:

    Damn all your food looks amazing! That Target pasta loooks SOOO GOOD (even if it is full of sodium) 🙂 Love the pringles for breakfast – you are my kind of lady!

  6. snackface says:

    Emily! I just caught up on your weekend, which looked amazing! CONGRATS on the big decision! That is so exciting! I can’t wait to see where the next year will take you.

    OMFG I need to find those coconut Rochers. I didn’t even know they made that kind! YUM. Thanks for the awesome reviews!

    Hope your Tuesday is treating you well!

  7. Sarah says:

    hahahahahahahaha, i love that you got samples from ferrero! i’ve never tried the coconut ones — we had a box at work once, and those were the first to go. i bet they’re delicious!

  8. MaryBe says:

    I love Wilson, and hate when he cheats on me!
    I take a Centrum Chewable, because trying to swallow pills makes me gag.
    Your mention of Duane Reade made me ‘homesick’. My daughter lived in Manhattan for a year, and we used to go to a DR all the time when I would come visit.
    PS I came here from Sarah’s blog (look up!)

Leave a Reply

