Swine Whine

If I had to use one word to describe myself today it would be hungry.

I woke up hungry so I packed an extra-large train breakfast,

hpim2690

Gnu bar and a serving of smoked almonds my aunt left at my house.  I enjoyed having something extra to munch on but this left me a little too full.

My students were unbelievable today; ignorance mixed with ratings driven media is a bad combination.  My kids are torn between being beyond terrified of swine flu and walking around with their hoodies cinched over their faces (which does nothing to stop you from getting the flu) and making a loooong series of jokes anytime someone coughs or sneezes.  Fun day.  I even had 1child who came in with a surgical mask – when I called her mom about it she was pissed.  I even took the time to have the dean come in and talk to my kids about the precautions we would take, the fact that there wasn’t a problem, and the fact that covering your mouth wasn’t going to help – it was still pandemonium.  Disclaimer; I in no way mean to downplay the seriousness of the current medical issue.

They wore me out – good thing I packed a big lunch too!  Pink Lady apple,

hpim2687

Doctor Kracker Hummus Maximus serving,

hpim2689

fat free vanilla Oikos,

hpim2688

Hersheys minis serving.

hpim2686

I stayed after school to grade work, post student work, make phone calls, etc.  I’m a total heath foodie so of course I hit up the vending machines for an (unpictured) regular Coke and serving of Combos.  I rock like that.

I stayed a little too late and ended up having to grandma at the mall power-walk it from the train to my apt to my funevent of the day…..Brooklyn Blogger Meet Up Part Deux.

img_8973

Sarah, Vani, Dianiand I hit up Hancos for a fabulous dinner.  Both sets of camera batteries died today so these pictures are courtesy of the lovely Sarah.  I got a Thai iced tea bubble tea,

img_8957

and a SPICY tofu sandwich.

img_89581

It was soo good but soo spicy!  When the lady asked “you want spicies?” I brazenly was all “oh yeah, super spicy.”  I’m sure the other bloggers loved watching tears/snot run down my face all through dinner!

img_89591

For dessert Diani brought some yumtastic carob chip oaties she had gotten from Heather Eats Almond Butter.  Delish, kudos Heather!

img_8970

We had a great time chatting it up, but unfortunatly for me we talked about cupcakes so long I ended up having to walk most of the way home with Vani to Tea Lounge to buy a cupcake!

hpim2691

Don’t worry, I split this monster with A!

What a day!  Is anyone you know wigging over swine flu?

10 Responses to Swine Whine

  1. Great hanging out with you tonight! Oh man, I missed out on the cupcake offerings at Tea Lounge – you guys weren’t kidding!

  2. verbalriot says:

    As a media student, I’m skeptical of this swine flu scare. I mean, yes, it is a real problem, but are we going a little bit too nuts over this? (example: your students…)

    P.S. Um, let’s have another Brooklyn blogger meet up…in the end of May when I’m home 🙂

  3. sue says:

    that sandwich looks so good! i would have suffered through the spicy too. hope tomorrow goes better!

  4. Vani says:

    It was so much fun hanging out! I’ll let you know if/when I ever go to that Brooklyn running club . . .

  5. Danielle says:

    That cupcake looks awesome!

  6. Sarah says:

    I CAN’T BELIEVE YOU WENT AND GOT A TEA LOUNGE CUPCAKE WITHOUT ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! oh i’m so jealous 😛

  7. Sharon says:

    OH wow, that is intense. Swine flu scare is prevalent, but I didn’t know… that severe!

  8. cbetances says:

    You had bubble tea! I miss you and I will call you this weekend 🙂

  9. sarahsnacks says:

    lol, my school is shut down all next week because we had at least 7 confirmed cases of the swine flu!

Leave a Reply

