Venting Like an Exhaust Pipe

Yikes, what a day!  I’ve been busy (and angry!) nonstop.  This is a bit of a vent post.

My camera/batteries were on strike yesterday so we are pretending that there wasn’t a Thursday.  I am so over my crappy camera but I don’t want to make any major purchases until I at least know where I am living next year!

A overslept this morning and since he was my wake-up today I overslept too.  Thankfully we were getting up super early and Friday starts later for me, but it didn’t put me in the best frame of mind.  After hopping up, speed-dressing, and skipping a shower (yetch!) I managed to type two handouts I need for next Monday so that I could get them copied at school rather than paying at Staples.  However, when I went to print, my computer/printer went wacko and were impossible.  A managed to fix it, but not before I said some serious expletives!

I made it out of the house on time but the stress made me less excited about train breakfast than usual.  I ate a small Sonya apple,

hpim2692

and only half of this Clif Bar.

hpim2695

My students were out of their minds all day and they drove me out of my mind.  One student (the same student who threatened to kill me earlier this year) was mad that I called his parents yesterday so he sat and loudly boo-ed me for the first 25minutes of class.  That was just lovely to teach through, I’m sure glad that security wasn’t right next door refusing to come take him out!  Then there was an unannounced fire drill that ate up more than half of the period.

Even more fun was the class I had at the end of the day.  Background – they are one of two classes in the 8th grade where 95% of the students are failing all but one or all of their classes.  Most of the class is 16years old or older.  Several of the students are seriously emotionally disturbed, and 3 of them were randomly turfed from special needs earlier this year.  Of 27 students 6 of them have parole officers and 3 of them were recently suspended for stealing electronics from the school.  Plus, one of male students has literally said nothing to me in the last month except for a. shut the f**k up  b. who the f**k is talking to you?  c. mind your f**king business.  Seriously, his average in my class is a straight zero, he has literally Never picked up a book in my room.  Awesome.

Sort of (actually, not sarcastically) awesome, however, was towards the end of class when I recited a poem I memorized for them.  I was demonstrating a poetry in motion activity they could complete for extra-credit and they suddenly sat dead silent and stared at me through 5 straight recitations of Robert Frost’s “Fire and Ice.”  They also got super super excited about the nonsense poem we read yesterday (I included it at the bottom of his post).

Also awesome is the fact that in the last week I’ve gotten a laptop cart and a Smartboard!  I don’t have internet in my room yet and the SmartBoard is totally not assembled but it’s still pretty dope.  Because I was running all over the building getting a project I never got a chance to eat lunch.  I packed a LeanCuisine and at the end of the day I had no desire to stay at school to microwave it so I left it in the freezer for Monday’s lunch.  I did grab my drink to enjoy on the ride home though.

hpim2696

I spotted this Venga in a store the other day and got curious.  Good, but not good enough to justify the sugar/260calories in a full bottle.

When I got home I ate the first thing I could find which was 1serving of these Pringles.

hpim2697

It did the trick and I was able to unpack without eating my own arm!

I am glad to be home, but still stressed because I need to make it to the gym (it’s gotten ridiculous, I’ve decided May officially kickstarts my welcome back to normal, healthy living) and cook.  I usually wouldn’t mind staying up late on Friday but I am attending a parent-teacher meeting thing at my school tomorrow from 10-2.

I’ve got to run, if I don’t make it to the gym that will be another thing on my angry list!  See you for a dinner post.

the poem my students loved

One fine day in the middle of the night,

Two dead boys got up to fight.

Back-to-back they faced one another,

Drew their swords and shot each other.

One was blind and the other couldn’t see,

So they chose a dummy for a referee.

A blind man went to see fair play,

A dumb man went to shout “hooray!”

A deaf policeman heard the noise,

And came and shot the two dead boys.

A paralyzed donkey walking by,

Kicked the copper in the eye,

Sent him through a 9inch wall,

Into a dry ditch and drowned them all.

(If you don’t believe this lie is true,

Ask the blind man — he saw it too!)

7 Responses to Venting Like an Exhaust Pipe

  1. MaryBe says:

    Ha that reminds me of a poem my Dad taught us called Old Dunderback! And I am new to your blog so I don’t know the situation but can I just say GET OUT of there now! Why do you teach (or try to teach) somewhere that frightening? Just reading this post scared me a lot

  2. Sarah says:

    ahhh, just a little bit longer!!!!! these brooklyn “moments” are going to give you juicy stories for years to come (if that’s any consolation, haaaaaa). and that poem is awesome, in a scary sort of way. it’s awesome that you’re able to introduct them to the poetry as a (safe) form of expression!

    good luck living through your four hour meeting tomorrow, ack.

  3. Sharon says:

    Sorry about the camera. But ooooohhh love love love pringles LOL!!!!!!

  4. verbalriot says:

    you should write a movie. The anti- Freedom Writers.

  5. Mariposa says:

    oh the joys of city teaching… kids like that are really tough- really really tough. its sad to say that i think a lot of it is the way they are raised and the things that they see in life. not judging anyone’s situation but if what i saw at home was drug use and violence- and i was a teen who didnt know how to express pain and anger in a normal way- i’d be telling people to F off too. Not really an excuse for a kid to be disrespecting but I do feel kind of bad for kids like that. they dont know what kind of world is out there and only see the fifty feet in front of them….

    sorry.. i’ll get off my soapbox! i hope things get easier and i also liked that poem! it was cool!! : )

    • Emily says:

      Mariposa – I completely know what you mean, it wasn’t soapbox talk! That is what is so hard for me about my school – we don’t address behavior issues in a way that provides any external motivation to act human, so basically the kids are not getting a “social” education Anywhere!

  6. Mariposa says:

    Emily- which makes running an event like you mentioned above such a hard thing to run! their parents dont care about their education.. how are they going to? wrapped up in their own drama.. some have to work i know, but gotta make time for the kids schooling.. this is definttely why i could never be a social worker!!!! im too emotionally invested.. lol

Leave a Reply

