Ice-Cream Man

After my last post I realized I wasn’t starving, but that I should probably eat before I was.  I had 1.5T of this fabulousness.

HPIM2757

A little later I ate the champagne mango I found at Whole Foods the other day.

HPIM2758

I was so impressed at A’s mad slicing skills – usually we get 1bite of flesh per mango!

HPIM2759

This was delish, but tasted just like a regular mango to me.  Has anyone else tried this? Thoughts?

Then A and I skilled more than 20minutes wrestling (no, I’m not being cute trying not to be dirty, I actually mean wrestle – A and I have a long history of beating the crap out of each other).  He totally won, our longstanding date-breaking with the gym means that he’s fatter and I’m weaker!

After my “workout” I headed out to do some grocery shopping.  We needed almost nothing for next week but A was going to the movies and I was going alone so I made an event of it.  I stopped in all the “hippie” stores to peruse before I went to Key Foods for $17 in staples!

On the way home I spotted an ice-cream truck!

HPIM2760

This was so Park Slope!  Van Leeuwen is all-natural and stocks grown-up flavors.

HPIM2761

I got a small espresso and giandujia (chocolate hazelnut) – yum!

HPIM2763

Just as I paid A swooped in from out of nowhere to steal a few bites!  Kicking my butt made him so late his movie was sold out so he walked home with me while he waited for the next show.  After I said goodbye to A and put away my groceries I got started on dinner.

First I sliced up these guys, put them on a sprayed, foiled baking sheet, sprinkled with a little salt, and put in the oven at 450* for 25minutes.

HPIM2765

I ended up eating all of the green and yellow squash and 1/2 of the tempeh.  While I was baking I cracked open our new beer – Abita Strawberry Beer.

HPIM2766

Tasty, tasty!  I didn’t necessarily get strawberry, but it tasted like summer and went down easy.  I’m someone who usually only drinks half a beer but this I finished and almost went back for a 2nd of!

When the roasting was done I put my veggies on a plate and got started on my open faced sandwich (inspired by this kerf’wich).  I toasted 1 slice of rye bread, spread it with pumpkin butter, laid down 1/2 a package of the sliced baked tempeh, topped with 1oz sharp cheddar, and baked for 5minutes.

HPIM2767

Yum!  All together now.

HPIM2768

Roasted squash is one of my favorite veggies and this sandwich was frickin amazing – I could never go raw!  If you are a fan of the salty/sweet combo you must try this!

I am all packed and excited for tomorrow (SELF Workout in the Park) so once I get a shower it is time to laze in bed with my book.  Don’t let the bedbugs bite!

Have you tried tempeh yet?

4 Responses to Ice-Cream Man

  1. Alison says:

    I haven’t tried tempeh yet, but I should. I love tofu so hope I would like tempeh too.
    I’ve always wondered whether the champagne mango was anything special. At least it’s pretty.
    I like slicing squash/zuchinni thin and grilling it on my George Forman grill. Yum.

  2. Sharon says:

    I need to try tempeh! But I haven’t been able to find it in stores. And mmmmm ice cream!! MANGOES!! LOVE IT ALL!

  3. verbalriot says:

    ahhh ABITA is sooooo goood

  4. Sarah says:

    i always thought champagne mangoes didn’t taste any different and the name somehow had to do with them being smaller?

    and i saw that ice cream truck the other day and was SO tempted. i’m glad it was a success. i hope i see the truck again.

    can’t wait to hear how self in the park went!

Leave a Reply

