SELF Workout in the Park

What a great spring day!  We had good weather, good work-outs, good eats.  I woke up around 7:30 and even though I wasn’t hungry yet I knew I wanted to eat before I left for the park.  I used this nonfat plain Greek Gods Greek Yogurt as my base.

HPIM2769

Then I added 1/4C Kashi Blueberry and 1/2C fresh blackberries.

HPIM2770

Mmmm.  The berries were a little sour so I added a small drizzle of maple syrup over the top.

HPIM2771

Then I headed up to Central Park for SELF Workout in the Park.  The event started at 11 but registration opened at 9 so I aimed to get there a little before 10.  Standing in line was pretty brutal, there was no registration, you signed up for classes when the event opened.  I did, however, meet another girl who was there alone so we decided to spend the day together – we had a really great time and it was fun to meet a new friend.  I also worked out with Amelia and Melissa during the event!

They had the area split into three parts – the quiet zone, the rebounding zone, and the main stage.

HPIM2774

You had to sign up for rebound and quiet classes (limit 1per person) but could wander to the main stage as you wished.  I ended up taking 4 20minute classes.

  1. Rock Bottom – I have always heard friends who went to other colleges rave about this class so I was really looking forward to it.  I did not, however, realize it was not a mat class – at least I gave the people behind me a good laugh!  My legs were on fire, there is no way I could have done a full 60minutes of this!
  2. Ballet Pilates – I loved this.  Pilates is my favorite workout and this was basically a regular class with more toe raises and squats mixed in.
  3. Beach Body – this was another cardio class but I managed to make it all the way through!  Lots and lots of squats.  The instructor had us do the motions of tricep/bicep reps without weights and by the end I was dying!
  4. Urban Rebounding – this class took place on mini trampolines!  The instructor had great energy which made it even more fun.  I appreciated that this was easy on my joints, however, the boobies and the bladder?  Not so much.  I felt like I was going to pee my pants halfway through, I should Not have chugged my water before this class.

All in all I had a really great time in all of the classes.  Even though I am super out of shape, I got in a great work out.  Seeing little snippets of things exposed me to some classes that I wouldn’t have thought I would be interested in.  I realized that I’m missing out on something not attending group cardio classes.

Throughout the day in between classes my new friend and I hit up the sample tables.  We hit them hard!  During the event I ate 1mini EAS sample,

HPIM2772

and two of these truevia dipped strawberries.

HPIM2773

In addition to hitting up the tables during the event, as we were walking around at closing people were giving us handfuls of products!  Check out my final haul –

 HPIM2779

HPIM2780

 

HPIM2781

HPIM2782

HPIM2783

I am pretty psyched about all of this!

At 3 when the event ended I walked 10blocks to meet A who had come up to the city to hang out.  Due to some train issues we took a long time to get home – we ended up having to walk from Atlantic Center!  By the time we got home I was pretty beat.  I was replenished in a hurry by this bad boy though.

HPIM2775

I bought this young Thai coconut at Whole Foods and I’ve been excited about it all week.  I drank the water with a crazy straw,

HPIM2776

and scraped out most of the flesh with a spoon.

HPIM2777

Yum!

I spent the late afternoon organizing somethings around the house and hanging out with A.  It was getting later and later and before it was time to shower I realized I had to have a snack.  I adore jalapeno poppers but you can never find them without cheddar cheese so when I spotted this the other day I knew I had to buy it.

HPIM2784

I ate 4 poppers as my snack.

HPIM2785

By the time I got out of the shower A said we had to order dinner, he was too hungry to wait for me to cook.  I took the opportunity to try out Dao Palate, a new all-vegan spot in Park Slope.  I ordered the General Tso’s Soy Protein.

 HPIM2787

I know this wasn’t the healthiest of choices but I didn’t get much to eat today so it’s ok.  The meal came with miso soup,

HPIM2788

and brown rice.

HPIM2789

I ate all of the broccoli, 3/4 of the “meat,” and just a few bites of the soup and the rice.

Tomorrow is a busy day, next week is an actual full week of school!  I’m hoping to get up early, but we’ll see.  Sleep tight!

Do you enjoy group cardio classes?

10 Responses to SELF Workout in the Park

  1. Sarah says:

    oooh, emily, this was my kind of day!! i wish it had been next weekend. you scored incredible loot, and i am so impressed. i will have to keep my eye out for those new classes. i do enjoy group cardio classes, but i don’t think i’ve taken one in at least 6 months. i tend to go in waves.

    (and omg train issues — it took an hour for the f to go from jay to 7th ave yesterday! i was about to get out and push the effing thing)

  2. Allison says:

    WOW!!! you got tons of loot, im totally jealous!

  3. Mom says:

    I’ll take that Eucerin lotion, please. I’ve always wanted to try it. You can have my yellow purse!

  4. Sharon says:

    Oh wow, what an awesome lot of things!!! Totally so much fun!!!

  5. Melissa says:

    Great pics from the event! I am glad we ran into each other! Way to snag a haul. The almonds are great!

  6. Alison says:

    I wish I could have gone to something like that. One of the really cool things about living in NYC!
    I enjoy group fitness classes but can’t usually fit them into my schedule. And other times I just prefer working out on my own – I love listening to my own music.

  7. […] Work-out in the Park is coming soon, Saturday, May 8th.  I had a great time last year and I’m super sad to not be able to go again.  If you are interested tickets are $20 in […]

  8. […] Work-out in the Park is coming soon, Saturday, May 8th.  I had a great time last year and I’m super sad to not be able to go again.  If you are interested tickets are $20 in […]

Leave a Reply

