Rock Star

The day is done and I am a Rock Star!  I am 100% + done with school for this week.

This morning I worked straight through breakfast but around 1 I prepared lunch for A and I.  We bought this Arnold Everything Rye bread on Thursday so we knew we wanted sandwiches.

HPIM2900

Tuna salad!  We use a little bit of mayo and a LOT of pickle relish in our tuna salad.

HPIM2901

I sprinkled hot paprika on my portion, I had about 1/2 a can (since A ate 1.5cans!)

HPIM2903

{More his/hers} I added salt and pepper and cheddar cheese to the bowl after I took my portion out.

HPIM2902

I ate my sandwich along with a sliced plum and some Dirty Salt and Vinegar chips.

HPIM2904

All together.

HPIM2905

I did morework and a little later I made this split-tastic bowl.

HPIM2906

A sliced banana, a sugar free banana fudge pudding, 1 crunched double stuff oreo, and a few cinnamon brown sugar almonds.

.more work.

When I was 80% of the way done I went to the gym.  I did 35minutes on the treadmill – 1minutes walking/2minutes jogging for 3.4miles.  Then I did 5minutes of abs and stretching on the mat and 5minutes of arms on the machines.  In spite of being a total fat ass for the last 6months we discovered I can now do 40lbs on some of the arm machines – more rock starness!

After the gym I walked to Staples to do work and to Union Market to buy fruit and a surprise for A, I also bought this Naked Gold Machine Juice for the walk.

HPIM2909

Then home, and then to Starbucks to do my final piece of work.

HPIM2910

I ordered a tall nonfat iced latte so I wouldn’t feel bad sitting at a bench but A came down a bit later and drank 90% of it.  I made grade reports for all of my students that show every assignment so far this semester and the grades they earned on them.  I have high hopes that kids do make-up in the next 2weeks but it looks like I will be failing a lot students my FINAL QUARTER of teaching.

Once done I came home and made a late lame/awesome dinner.

HPIM2912

This was Tofu -Deveganized!  I drained and pressed a block of extra-firm tofu then cut it in half.  Then I cut a hole in the side of the block, careful not to cut through to the other side.  In the hole I stuffed turkey pepperoni and reduced fat mozzarella cheese.  I covered the hole with a small slice of tofu, rolled the block in egg and breadcrumbs, and fried in .5t evoo.

HPIM2914

Awesome.

HPIM2916

On the side sauteed A and I some frozen broccoli rabe with wasabi sesame seeds and then added in the leftover dipping egg for the last few minutes of cooking.

HPIM2913

It was inedible – the frozen rabe was cheap and it was all bitter bitter stems.  This dish was more bitter than a fat wife whose ex-husband just married an 18year old.  My other failure was the Stonewall Kitchen Wasabi Mustard I tried to use as a dipping sauce, also terrible.  But the tofu?

HPIM2919

Fabulous.  I would, however, recommend baking at 450* for 30minutes instead of frying, I was pressed for time.

I tried a few sips of A’s beer but ended up going with a diet Dr Pepper cherry.

HPIM2911

I totally had to have dessert. Turkey Hill Mint Choco Chip ice-cream with 2 double stuffs crunched over the top.

HPIM2920

Mint chip is a favorite of mine but this might be the best kind I’ve ever had, go Turkey Hill!

A and I have super fun plans to celebrate a work free day tomorrow, I can’t wait!  Sweet dreams all.  I will end with some bonus questions –

  1. What are you excited for on Sunday?
  2. What do you put in your tuna saldd?
  3. What is your favorite ice-cream flavor?
8 Responses to Rock Star

  1. carolinebee says:

    You just made a breaded, fried, tofu calzone= freakin awesome 😀

    1. Church!
    2. Mayo, mustard, onions and celery
    3. Chocolate malted crunch, from rite aid!

    Have a great weekend emily!

  2. Alison says:

    1. Church – I came up with a cute craft idea for make with my monsters in Sunday School.
    2. Tuna salad – I hate canned tuna, but for chicken salad I add in grapes, celery, mustard, etc
    3. Choc. chip cookie dough.

    Your sandwich looked great even though I don’t like tuna. I’ve only recently developed a taste for rye bread. I like its unique tang.

  3. Mom says:

    BROWN SUGAR almonds?! Write that down for when we get to NY!

  4. Emily says:

    Yay for getting all your school work done! 🙂

    Have a great Sunday!!

  5. Sharon says:

    hahaha, what an awesome way to enjoy tofu. and mmmm tuna!

  6. verbalriot says:

    1. Sleeping in.
    2. Grapes!
    3. Green tea ice cream.

  7. ellie says:

    1) catching up on sleep
    2) canned corn (I think this is a british thing? It’s really good!)
    3) Ben and jerry’s chubby hubby

  8. Sarah says:

    congrats on getting all your work done! that split-tastic bowl is calling my name, and i love your devaganized tofu!!! so unique and creative and brilliant. tofu-stuffing is now something i definitely need to add to my agenda 🙂 i also agree that turkey hill is amazing and SO creamy.

    1. having a clear agenda
    2. humbangu sauce, as of Friday
    3. cookies and cream (and yes, omg, b&j chubby hubby! oh wait, green tea! man, i had no hesitation at all about cookies and cream until i looked at the other comments.)

Leave a Reply

